1. kfarley87

    OP kfarley87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    i am fairly new to modding the Wii u. I have haxchi installed on my home screen and run loadiine to run backups. I am looking to get mocha going. In order to get mocha I obviously need the files on the sd but then would I have to run the HB launcher and install it through the browser? When that is done can I just run it through haxchi like loadiine? Thanks for the help/patience guys!
     
  2. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you need mocha when haxchi does everything mocha does. Having them both together you are basically running a cfw to boot into another cfw it's pointless
     
  3. kfarley87

    OP kfarley87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh I didn't realize that, like I said I am very new. So having haxchi already there I can just run the wup installer and install games that way?
     
  4. jimbo13

    jimbo13 Terry Crews #1 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,083
    Country:
    United States
    Not accurate, need Mocha currently to run BOTW and I am guessing all imports. (I don't normally do imports so I wouldn't know.)

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/mattkimuras-wii-u-hacking-guide.462121/
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-install-and-play-eur-botw.462563/

    All you need to do is go to the Homebrew channel, download/Run Mocha and set haxchi to use it. Do not mess around with Coldboot haxchi yet at your experience level imo.
     
  5. kfarley87

    OP kfarley87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    That is what I figured, how do I set haxchi to use mocha? Would I need to boot it every time before I played BOTW?
     
    Sonic Angel Knight likes this.
  6. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    Not true AT ALL. You don't need Mocha to run BoftW or any other import. Mocha is for people who don't want to buy a DS game for haxchi. HaxChi is sigpatched CFW and region free.

    I'm playing BoftW right now and I use CBHC. No need for a CFW on top of another CFW
     
    Pixelspass, digipimp75 and AmandaRose like this.
  7. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What the fuck are you on about haxchi is region free so plays all imports I don't have mocha and have been playing botw with zero problems. @jimbo13 get your facts right before telling someone else their information is not accurate when it was please. Clearly says in the haxchi thread that it is region free https://gbatemp.net/threads/haxchi-v2-0-a-persistent-wiiu-hack.451071/
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Feb 28, 2017
    Pixelspass and Kafluke like this.
  8. jimbo13

    jimbo13 Terry Crews #1 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,083
    Country:
    United States
    I couldn't install BOTW under Haxchi, I had to install Mocha then it installed fine. When I was looking around yesterday this is not a unique experience.
     
  9. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes and every one of them is just people who don't know how to use haxchi correctly. User error it's as simple as that.
     
  10. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    "(I don't normally do imports so I wouldn't know.)" Then why you trying to help someone if all you did was read a guide.

    I don't know how word got out that mocha and rednand are the way to go. Day after day noobs posts questions about redNAND and mocha.

    PSA: HaxChi is a CFW with region free and sigpatching. It does absolutely everything you need.
     
  11. kfarley87

    OP kfarley87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok since I have haxchi already would I just have to run wup installer for BOTW and then good to go? Thanks everyone for the help so far
     
  12. jimbo13

    jimbo13 Terry Crews #1 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,083
    Country:
    United States
    PSA: Listen to smart ass elitists convinced the program is working right %100 and would rather argue than help so you can go through endless stack dumps of failed installs or install Mocha and watch it install first try.
     
  13. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes run haxchi first then install it like any other game it's as simple as that.
     
  14. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    You need to first launch haxchi to patch sysnand. You'll either have to hold B everyting you launch HaxChi or edit the config file auto patch sysNAND when launching haxchi. Or even better yet, setup and install CBHC. It's easy and you won't brick unless you're seriously retarted.
     
  15. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you even know what you are talking about for one you don't install Mocha as it's just files on your sd card secondly I have not seen one person talk about dsi errors or failed game installs with haxchi. The only reports of issues with Haxchi have always turned out to be user error and not problems with haxchi
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Feb 28, 2017
    Pixelspass and Kafluke like this.
  16. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    If someone asks me how to change a starter motor on a car and I tell them the best most efficient method to do so does that make me an elitist? Get over yourself. You're doing it wrong and giving incorrect advise. Simple as that
     
  17. jimbo13

    jimbo13 Terry Crews #1 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,083
    Country:
    United States
    I know you really want to show off your e-peen and spend a lot of time on these forums and know %100 how everything is supposed to work and really need an excuse to bitch, argue and flame.

    I am simply telling someone how I made it work that I read in numerous other places where people were getting stack dumps when trying to install under haxchi.
     
  18. kfarley87

    OP kfarley87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok makes sense, I patch sysnand from the wup installer correct? That is setting up a USB device to read the backups? Again thanks for the patience here guys
     
  19. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    Please enlighten us. Share a link to these numerous DSI error posts and I'll show you people who are not using HaxChi correctly.

    You didn't simply tell someone how it worked for you, you absolutely said that we were wrong and that you must have mocha. BS

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    No, HaxChi patches sysnand when you run it while holding B. Or change the config file for haxchi, or install CBHC
     
    Pixelspass likes this.
  20. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,992
    Country:
    United States
    Good boy, cause i done the same thing. Also you can't use ftpiiu everywhere without mocha, so there is that. Mocha cfw does things Haxchi does not, but they do the basic stuff, such as sig patch for running games that are not legit. But depends on who uses it. Besides, I feel satisfied seeing that Mocha cfw logo when it loads the home menu. ^_^
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Please, trying, figure