Playstation 3 internet connection problem

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by xraven13, Oct 31, 2010.

Oct 31, 2010
  1. xraven13
    OP

    Member xraven13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Croatia
    Hi everyone..

    So 1 of my neighbours have internet access point so I can connect via wireless to it. It works everything perfectly with my PC. That network is unsecured so I just click on it and it works [​IMG]..

    So I tried to connect my PS3 via wireless to that network.

    So I go to Internet Connection Settings, when I go with easy method, I select wireless, then scan ( it finds the network ) , Security -> none.. And then when it checkes network configuration, after some time it says that it can't find the IP adress...
    I also tried to do everything manually, I typed in the IP and DNS number ( but i am not sure in neither of this ), and it connected, but there was no internet ( it said that there is a DNS error )...

    I also tried to connect my PC with PS3 via ethernet cable ( without router ).
    When I go automatic, it doesn't work. When I go manually, I set the IP , default gateway etc., but I am again not sure in DSN adress. My friend gave me one address for which he is sure that it should be correct, but i still received DNS error. ( IP connection succeeds )

    Anyway, I really don't know what to do next. I think there must be somewhere else problem ( cause of first example ) ...

    Any idea ???
     
  2. Rasas

    Banned Rasas Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    You shouldn't be stealing internet but it is probably the router. Sometimes a router is only told to send out so many IP addresses but I doubt that since your PC can connect easily so it is probably mac filtering or the other more troublesome things. Have your tried to 192.168.1.1 and checking if some settings on their router is screwing it up. The password and username default is usually admin and since they aren't protecting it it will be easy to check. Also ffs don't be a script kiddy or hack it it is really really gay.
     
  3. xraven13
    OP

    Member xraven13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Croatia
    I am not stealing. That neighbour is my friend, though he doesn't know a thing about computers.. And their kids use the internet which are around 10 years old :\..
    When i connect with laptop it doesn't ask me any kinda username or pass..

    When i go to settngs and connection status list, it says : Internet connection Enabled.. But when i try to connect to PSN etc i receive DNS error ?

    When i connect PS3 to that access point it says this ( in wlan info ):

    Information

    Status: Active
    Type: Generic Device
    Connected To: WLAN (Wireless)
    Allowed on WLAN: Yes

    Addressing

    Physical Address: 00:1f:1f:57:bf:1f
    IP Address Assignment: DHCP
    IP Address: 192.168.1.3
    Always use the same address: Yes
    DHCP Lease Time: 46 days, 19:14:03

    Connection Sharing

    There is no game or service assigned to this device.



    So, why i get DNS error on PS3 and cant use the internet ?
     
  4. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    turn you computer off and the ps3 will connect...
     
  5. SanzioSan

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    try manually setting up ur ip addresses again sept use 192.168.1.1 as ur gateway and 8.8.8.8 as your dns. for an ip u can use anything like 192.168.1.35 or watever.
     
  6. xraven13
    OP

    Member xraven13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Croatia
    Anyway, it's working now [​IMG]

    I need to set that wireless connection on laptop shares the internet and enable all services.. For DNS we used one that was suggested on the internet for DNS error I was gettting
     

Share This Page