Patching An IOS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by calthephenom, Apr 15, 2010.

Apr 15, 2010

Patching An IOS by calthephenom at 12:34 AM (2,522 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, im trying to patch the IOS BootMii Uses (If The User Indicates BootMii Is Not There ;D). i pretty much just want to insert an executable there, and have it launch the sys menu, but i don't really see how to patch an IOS.
    any help?
     


  2. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea what you are trying to do. Bootmii is an ios, boot2 or ios254.
     
  3. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use Priiloader to autostart an executable (read *.dol), the HBC, or the System Menu.

    Not sure you can do what you are trying using a patched bootmii [​IMG]
     
  4. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BootMii as IOS is IOS254
     
  5. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    BootMii As IOS254. i want to place an elf there, so whenever i called "IOS_Reload(254) (whatever the syntax is, i forgetz; d) it would load the elf
     
  6. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    So you want to replace an IOS with an executable, hmm, this should be interesting...
     
  7. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    lol. could i replace it with just the code perhaps?
     
  8. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    what is it with noobs wanting to patch stuff and tear stuff up? you dont need to patch or change anything at all or your nand or dick around with bootmii. leave it alone.

    just make a ppcboot.elf that calls
    Code:
    boot2_run( 1, 2 );
    then put that on your sd card.

    now when you start bootmii IOS or boot2, it will start MINI, MINI will load your ppcboot.elf, and that will boot your system menu.
     
  9. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    thats not what im getting at. it will fall back on my code, so it won't hang, like how it does in the HBC.
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Just take extract your nand.bin in showmiiwads, extract ios254 and hack away- pack it back up and install.
     
  11. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    if you put this ( http://www.multiupload.com/9TJVWT69T0 ) into SD:/bootmii/ and start bootmii and it hangs, then either your sd card is not compatible with MINI or you have really broken something else badly.
     
  12. TheWarDragon

    Banned TheWarDragon Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    He's tryng to modify bootmii so it can load GC from USB lol
     
  13. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    ill try to explain this again
    if a user has bootmii, it would load this when a button is pressed, normally, if BootMii is not installed As IOS254, it would just hang. i want to have the user Patch the IOS so it would boot the system menu if bootmii is not there. i just don't know how to patch an IOS /b/
     
  14. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    what button are you talking about pressing?
     
  15. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    idunno. i may even use keyboard input. that doesn't matter anyways ...
     
  16. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i dont think anybody, including yourself, know what you want to accomplish. you want to have a button somewhere... either on a keyboard, or on the system menu, or maybe connected to a doorbell.

    when that button is activated somehow, you want it to start the system menu? why the hell do you need bootmii?

    why not just make your button not appear if bootmii is not installed?

    why do you need to use an IOS for this? starting the system menu and/or bootmii can be done from the PPC.

    again, i see absolutely no reason to patch any IOS or install anything to the nand for whatever it is that you are trying to do.
     
  17. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I think I get it. Suppose you've got an app that calls for BootMii/IOS. Normally, if BootMii/IOS isn't there, then it crashes. The OP wants to somehow patch on-the-fly IOS254 to load the System Menu if Bootmii/IOS is missing.
     
  18. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    well then you just check the IOS revision of IOS254. bootmii IOS uses a constant number there. if that value is found, start IOS254. if it isnt found, start the system menu.

    see? it can be done without any useless IOS patching.
     
  19. calthephenom
    OP

    Member calthephenom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    What Revision Number What This Be?
     
  20. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    31338

    and if you have to be asking this stuff, you really dont need to be patching stuff for other people to install on their nand.
     

Share This Page