1. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,115
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 16GB microSD laying around but using my 64GB would be more convenient. Does a 16GB ext4 and a 48GB exFAT partition sound fine?
     
  2. Natehaxx

    Natehaxx GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    Eritrea
    maybe both sides 32GB if you want to use Lakka for Games
     
  3. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,115
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing newer than N64, and my collection of ROMs for those systems are small enough to fit fine on a 16GB partition.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Another question, does the order of partitions matter? @natinusala your input would be great as well, if you're available.
     
  4. Natehaxx

    Natehaxx GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    Eritrea
    so its fine to fit , i was just asking if you want to play psp or psx
     
  5. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,115
    Country:
    United States
    @Natehaxx Do you have a guide as to how to go about writing an image to a specific partition rather than the entire SD card?
     
  6. Natehaxx

    Natehaxx GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    Eritrea
    here i used the first partition as FAT32 and the Second as Ext 4

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Are you using Windows ? if yes you could join your SD Card with VMWare and simply copy the image to your Ext4 Drive , on osx i dont know how it would work out
     
  7. natanelho

    natanelho GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,540
    Country:
    Antarctica
    no apt tho
     
  8. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    It does, yes. The first partition needs to be FAT32 for both Horizon and Painless Linux (though it can be changed). The storage partition needs to be ext4 for the storage. See boot.txt in Lakka source if you want to change which partition to use as storage. Remember, it will be resized to fit the entire card (can be disable tho).

    An image contains multiple partitions. You can't do that.
     
  9. Natehaxx

    Natehaxx GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,137
    Country:
    Eritrea
    oh okay i was thinking you could force the image to one single drive
     
  10. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,115
    Country:
    United States
    So let me get this straight before I do anything. I format my SD card so it's empty and then write the image, which will automatically take care of setting up the two separate partitions? And can I specify that I want the ext4 partition to be smaller?
     
  11. DarkOrb

    DarkOrb GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey,

    Whenever I start the bat script, I see the screen with the Linux penguins for a few seconds on my Switch, then it does something and then it shows a black screen. I already tried to re-run the script, but it does the same thing.

    PS: I'm using a 128GB SD Card, maybe that's the cause?
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2018
  12. Flame

    Flame Me > You
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,011
    what size microsd should i get for this?
     
  13. Nudu

    Nudu Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Germany
    is there a way to put my sd card back to normal or stays the image on it forever?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2018
  14. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    just format it
     
  15. t34p075

    t34p075 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Any luck at all on getting Dolphin to compile for Lakka?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Depends greatly on what you want to put on it. I think it needs to be at least 8gb but if you want to do anything 16gb is probably better.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It writes two partitions and then expands the ext4 to fill the SD card.
     
  16. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    The core doesn't build, the ARM64 JIT has build errors that I don't know how to fix
     
  17. t34p075

    t34p075 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    That’s sad...hopefully now that you’ve done so much heavy lifting to get retroarch working it will motivate someone else to port Dolphin. N64 on switch is awesome as well.

    I’d be willing to put in some work on it, but if you don’t know how to fix it then I doubt I’m the guy to do it...
     
  18. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    Let's hope so !
    Well you could give it a shot - either get the core to build for arm64 (with the JIT ofc) or get the standalone to build (dependenciescompilation issues) + the launcher core (trivial).
     
  19. Irastris

    Irastris GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,115
    Country:
    United States
    Which build script is used for that? libretro-build-switch.sh? libretro-build-android-arm64_v8a.sh?
     
  20. natinusala

    OP natinusala Win32 error 31 is not an error
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Country:
    France
    Dolphin isn't in libretro-super but that's the idea. The command would be something like "platform=arm64 make -C /Source/Core/DolphinLibretro" from this repo https://github.com/libretro/dolphin

    You'll have to edit the makefile and the rules to :
    • accept arm64 arch
    • remove bad compiler flags (like -msse2)
    • add the arm64jit
    See this file : https://github.com/lakka-switch/Lak...tro/ppsspp/patches/ppsspp-arm-arm64-fix.patch

    It's the similar work I've done on PPSSPP.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2018
    lordelan and Irastris like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Painless, painless, (Windows