Hacking Opera Browser with EZV 3 in 1

Reaper

Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
1,259
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
Visit site
XP
458
Country
United States
I have an unpatched version of the Opera DS browser(E). I have tried going into GBAexploader 58b, going into expansion mode, and selecting RAM but it still says to power off my DS and put in the expansion. I was wondering where the patch for the browser is so I searched GBAtemp and Google, but with no answer. So does anyone know where the patch is?
And if it helps, Metroid Prime Hunters also has trouble detecting the rumble pak.
 

Quanno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
446
Trophies
1
XP
318
Country
Netherlands
In Narin's cheat database are cheats which let Opera read the 3-in-1, I think
unsure.gif
 

Evilmaster1985

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Location
Middle of nowhere
XP
109
Country
United States
I face exactly the same problem.
Setup everything correct GBA works but cant use the expansion mode for the NDS browser.

- Swap cheats on
- Swap code for EZ flash 3-1 on.
- I tell GBA exploader to go Expansion mode.
- It softresets and I open NDS browser. (Tells me to insert original pack)

Also tried loading something into the NOR as Eon-Rider suggested - No go.

Hardware info:
Nintendo DS Lite. (Black)
Using a DSTT as slot 1 and a EZ flash 3-1 in slot 2.
The DSTT runs firmware version 1.17 using a SDHC 8gb.

Any suggestions are welcome!

Greetz, Vistabuser.
 

fallenleader

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
i don't believe there is a fix right now, enjoy your gba playing for a little while.
the new version was released by force, the supply of older chips went by the wayside and they needed to update.

unfortunatly no one has caught up yet.

this info is from checking quite a few forums and hours of reading.
 

Evilmaster1985

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Location
Middle of nowhere
XP
109
Country
United States
Indeed I figured the same thing, thanks for the confirm fallenleader.
I basicly got my 3-1 to play GBA games however it would be nice to make full use of it
smile.gif

Wont be using the rumble function as ive heared that drains the 3-1 its battery a lot faster.

If anyone find or knows a fix for this please post!
Also could this be moved to: NDS - Flashing Hardware and Software\EZ-Flash?
Think it fits better there
smile.gif


Greetz, Vistabuser.
 

Dunaev

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
Khanty-Mansiysk
Website
Visit site
XP
103
Country
Serbia, Republic of

Evilmaster1985

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Location
Middle of nowhere
XP
109
Country
United States
Nope that doesnt seem to work for the newest batch
frown.gif

However I found out one strange thing , Quake 2 DS homebrew works.

http://quake.drunkencoders.com/q2/downloads_how_to_play.html

Which is weird since that requirest slot 2 ram.
Now the funny thing is it fails to detect this using the NDS browser with patch.
Maybe if they found out why this works and they others dont they could fix it.

Could anyone using a EZ-Flash 3-1 that can play GBA roms but CANT use the NDS browser confirm that Quake 2 DS works?

Edit - More info: When you tell Quake 2 DS to use EZflash instead of auto detect it wont work it only works on auto detect.

Greetz, Vistabuser.
 

Evilmaster1985

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Location
Middle of nowhere
XP
109
Country
United States
New Exploader wont be of any use.
I sent Cory a PM yesterday after finding out Quake II works.

I got this info back:

The problem isn't in detecting it, it can be detected fine using the routines ez gave us - the problem is in getting the browser to detect and see it. The browser itself requires specific data to be in an unwriteable area of ROM space on the GBA bus (it tries to write to it too, IIRC) and the setting that allowed this to work (writing the data the browser expects) on the older 3in1 doesn't seem to be working the same on the newer one.

He said he did everything possible without owning the official hardware.
If only he had a new batch ezflash card hehehe.

Greetz, Vistabuser.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stop getting your creamy paste all over
    +2
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    DO NOT WORK FOR ME :(
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I think he has a wedgie, and is afraid to fix it in public.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or else he caught one of those Florida STD's
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psis difficulty meter is Stds like how south park made it race color
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    oh yeah it's skin color for difficulty in south park

    is it, by that logic, blackface to play on the hardest difficulty if you're white?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Hey Psi, you ever been on a date and ran into another past date? And how did you handle it? Just curious.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He just says this is the neighbor across the block and says sorry their mail got mixed up
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, this sounds unhinged, but someone (i forgot who) saying they'd want to make their left 4 dead team wario, samus, captain falcon and nester gave me the idea for a quick round of fuck marry kill/bed wed behead
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    fuck marry kill:
    wario, samus, captain falcon
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i gotta say fuck captain falcon, because he's hot (no homo), marry samus, because she seems like good wife (or as BigOnYa says, wifey) material, and kill wario, because he can't die, so killing him won't really kill him
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    but uhhh that's just me hehe
    iu
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    good night guys
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night, wise one, thanks for trying to help.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    To sleep perchance to dream!
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    My state has put a heavy tax on vape juice, taxing any juice with nicotine by the weight/oz. So to get around the bs, my local vape store only sells 0 nicotine vape juices, then they also sell straight nicotine in tiny bottles, and you mix it yourself to your 0% juice, lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn, is that Wing from South Park?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    BigOnYa hmmm I wonder how long until someone just vapes the straight nicotine lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I was gonna say people are not that dumb, but yea you right, some are.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: I was gonna say people are not that dumb, but yea you right, some are.