Hacking Old 3DS and Acekard 2i

mistyholly2003

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
41
Country
Hi. I am new to the forums and only basic tech savvy so please go easy on me! I have had a DS Lite in the past and have a DSTT card and an Acekard 2i and am wondering if there is any way either of these will work on my 3DS? I have read conflicting things online and am confused lol. My 3DS is currently on version 11.0.0-33E if that helps :-) Also if neither of these cards will work for me then can someone please recommend one - preferably in the cheaper price range! Thanks in advance...
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
Without access to CFW, those DS flashcarts will not work on an 11.0 3DS. To get access to CFW, you will need to downgrade with a hardmod or DSiWare.
If you do not want to downgrade your 3DS for CFW, you will need to buy a new DS flashcart that is compatible with 11.0.

Edit: There are plenty of DS flashcarts compatibile with 11.0 at nds-card.com and other online stores. It will say in the listing if a flashcart is compatible with 11.0, and all the flashcarts under 3DS console Cards are compatible with 11.0.
 
Last edited by Lacius,

mistyholly2003

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
41
Country
Thanks!
I've had a look at the tutorials and I don't think I want to risk downgrading my console (I don't have the spare cash to buy a new one if it goes wrong!)
I think I'll probably buy a new card... what's the difference between all the R4 cards on that page or are they all pretty much the same? Also do they play the 3ds roms in 2d or do they only play the original nds games?
Sorry for all the questions!
 

Wuigi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
727
Trophies
1
XP
1,783
Country
United States
If you still end up installing the currently best CFW Luma3DS and it doesn't even show the icon of the AK2i, it could be contact problems.
I solved those by opening the two pastic parts holding the AK2i together and putting some cardbard between the parts and inserting it again like normal.
If it is a small old 3DS it is going to be a real pain to downgrade it if you don't use the transfer trick with DSiWare etc., but it's really worth it.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
Thanks!
I've had a look at the tutorials and I don't think I want to risk downgrading my console (I don't have the spare cash to buy a new one if it goes wrong!)
I think I'll probably buy a new card... what's the difference between all the R4 cards on that page or are they all pretty much the same? Also do they play the 3ds roms in 2d or do they only play the original nds games?
Sorry for all the questions!
There's not much of a difference between all the R4 clones, and they will only allow you to play normal DS games. If you want to play 3DS backups, you need either CFW or a flashcart like Sky3DS that works on 11.0.
 

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,406
Trophies
2
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
3,495
Country
Gambia, The
Thanks!
I've had a look at the tutorials and I don't think I want to risk downgrading my console (I don't have the spare cash to buy a new one if it goes wrong!)
I think I'll probably buy a new card... what's the difference between all the R4 cards on that page or are they all pretty much the same? Also do they play the 3ds roms in 2d or do they only play the original nds games?
Sorry for all the questions!
I suggest you to get an R4i Gold 3DS RTS (r4ids.cn) if you want a DS mode flashcard (for DS games only).
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
6,038
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,984
Country
Portugal
R4i-SDHC 3DS RTS from r4i-sdhc.com is awesome. I own one. Don't buy any r4isdhc.com cart though. They have a timebomb on their cart, its a shitty business move.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000x using Tapatalk
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Beans and Bologna. What gurl wouldn't want to come home to that.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Guess my sister had a new baby at this point the doctors are like well see you again in 9 months
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn i should of wrapped it that time... hope she has her hubby fooled:P
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh that's cool, you gonna be an again Uncle
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Screw that family I stay away as much as I can
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh, Fam 4 Life, no ducking that one
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If you knew mine you'd run
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    All fams have issues, mine too. No matter, it's still Fam. (But I know what you mean)
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Fam as in family?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nah, family is like the initial party in an RPG, they're just a suggestion but you can ditch them once you level up.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I love that analogy
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    People are too closed in over the idea of blood is blood I believe people are people and you can choose the ones you want to be around easily
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ofcourse you can choose, but Family is bond, no matter, you have to go out of your way for family. Golden rule. "You can choose your friends, but unfortunately, you can cannot choose your family"
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but no one said you have to talk to them the only difference is sharing a name
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Like how kids are born into a family business that may want to do something different and become a complete disappointment to them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    True. I have cousins on my dad side I've never spoke to. Only knew of them when going to Grandma's funeral. N still don't speak with them (I tried, left my # with them, have invited them to dinner-nothing) That's life
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Not saying I'd wish any ill will but I don't want their drama
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    My wifey got some stupid sleep abtinovue thingy that makes noise in bedroom and I can't deal with it, Loud AF. She don't care if I'm in bed with her now, so I feel like I'm free again, I can sleep wherever, whenever. I just wondering how long this will last.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's like yeah, we have a few genes in common, but then again we have genes in common with a banana.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    So is your wife single now?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Sure, as long as you can deal with a generator sound at night
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And she ain't already at @K3Nv2 house.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Pull the plug
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Pull my finger.
    Veho @ Veho: Pull my finger.