Odd R4i (wood firmware)problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by StupidGamer1, May 8, 2011.

May 8, 2011
  1. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, here is the deal. My wife has a R4i and uses it on her DSL. She's been wanting to play some casual games on her DSL for sometime. Since the official firmware has weird issues and wood seems to be more compatible (I use it on my own DSL but I have an R4 original and it works fine) However it seems like wood just won't load on her R4i no matter how hard I try. When you load the cart it has a preloaded game title in it "The great taku challenge?" (or something like that) Guess that's used as a exploit for DSi DSiXL's to work with R4i. So my question is why won't Wood load? I downloaded the R4i version of the wood firmware and even tried the "Load wood as a .NDS" but I still get the original back ground that comes with the original firmware, Even the updated offical firmware stinks because most games STILL don't work. So can anyone at all please help me on this?
     
  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    We need more info on what actual card you have. 'R4i' is not descriptive enough.

    A good picture would be best.
     
  3. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Sure, I'll upload it on photo bucket so you can see what kind of R4i it is. Give me a bit. oh and thank you for responding!
     
  4. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
  5. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  6. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I can confirm that isn't a Wood compatiable cart. Only a specific R4i Gold (lots of clones of it), R4idsn, and the Original R4 work with Wood.
     
  7. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    So, I'm screwed huh, well that sucks. So there is absolutely no way to make games that don't work properly,run correctly. Namely "Crafting mama"
     
  8. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks,I just moved here and been here for about a month. When I find some work, I'll see about getting her an official R4I SDHC or something similar.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  10. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States

    Not to sound Noobish but I should try the R4Clone YSmenu? Correct? Her "Clone" does support SDHC which I should have mention as it has a 8 GB SDHC card in there.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What I'm saying is the R4 SDHC clone that site sells is not a good cart either. It's not SDHC support (which is good and on all carts), I'm talking about the card named R4 SDHC that the site sells.

    Yes, you should try the YSmenu for clones with retro's updates.
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The r4i.cn is an ezvi clone. Wood EZ5 exists but its' internal and i doubt it will be released one day.
     
  13. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try Retro's YSmenu and see if I can get anywhere i hope it works,that way my wife can be happy.
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
  15. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States

    Yes, I put the new firmware on there. Some games run but won't save or work past a certain point. Which of course is rubbish.
     
  16. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    i see. you seem to not understand what is a firmware and a kernel.

    The firmware is the main code of the main component inside your r4i.cn. To update it you need to run the .nds one time and follow the instruction. Once the update done, you can delete the firmware file.

    The kernel is the operating system. It's always required on the microsd.

    So, have you done that ?
     
  17. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently not... I wasn't aware of the use of clones,now that I am aware of the firmware then I'll go ahead and try it. Thanks.
     
  18. StupidGamer1
    OP

    Member StupidGamer1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    The firmware works a little better. I am pretty happy with that but the game she wanted to play (Crafting mama) still had that save function but I found a AP patch for it and that seems to corrected the problem quite well. Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page