no wonder the Wii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by GN-001 Exia, Sep 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 23, 2008

no wonder the Wii... by GN-001 Exia at 2:18 AM (2,664 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    is always warm when WiFi is set on standby.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Nintendo needs to fix this and set it with a bigger gap of accessing the net or have a setting the end users selects.
     


  2. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    or power the fan when the net is running.
     
  4. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would severely decrase the lifetime of the fan, and in turn the Wii in general seeing as Wii Connect 24 runs 24 hours a day.
     
  5. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Whats your lease time set to?
     
  6. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm pretty sure its not downloading all the time because on my modem hardly ever it says theirs a "pc" connected wirelessly.
     
  7. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    It wouldn't matter what lease time I have on the router. the fact that my other Wireless products are not warm all the time like my Wii makes no sense. Plus this isn't exactly an isolated case. Everyone here in GBAtemp has experienced this at one point in time. Most of us have opted to fully turn off Wiiconnect or hold the power button longer to power it down to red.
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't have the same problem.

    My Wii do have contact with my router when it is in standby, but its very cold. And my router never releases it.

    what router do you have?
     
  9. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I swear some of you guys are real geniuses.The router has nothing to do with it. It sits their looking pretty while my h00r of the wii keeps asking it to give it up. Even if I reduce the lease time to 10 minutes... guess what? the Wii is still going to request for renewal cause it has my SSID and WPA2 key.

    But hey lets just entertain your request. Linksys WRT54GL V1.1 w/Tomato 1.21 firmware, Linksys WRT54G V5 w/DD-WRT V24Sp1.Micro firmware. To mess with your "smart" logic. My friend's Wii and desktop Pc's USB Belkin wireless G adapter does the same thing. Warm while PC is idle or standby. Her router is I think buffalo WHR-HP-G54 w/original firmware.
     
  10. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Your log doesn't show any traffic, only DHCP requests. Lease time would be my first thought.

    Show us an actual log of the traffic and you may get a better answer. Wireshark (ethereal) is free...
     
  11. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    duh! If it was WAN traffic I would have posted the traffic log with the GUI graph. And no my router does a better job at telling me WAN traffic than that garbage.

    Jesus christ I swear the main point of this topic is to show how much the Wii contently tries to establish a link with my router. Which is FINE. But the frequency of it is just plain retarded.
     
  12. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Fix your configuration or show a real log otherwise we are all laughing at you.

    To think you called Wireshark garbage [​IMG]
     
  13. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    are you really this stupid? Read the second part again. That is the point of this ENTIRE TOPIC! Configuring the router any different will result no different. Original firmware with default setting or 3rd party firmware.

    yes that program is garbage. Go BAWW now

    Edit: I'll make you even look more stupid than you do now. I've done other tests. I've placed the Wii's Mac address into my router to be BLOCKED. meaning no internet connection will be established cause it's black listed. Guess what... same result genius
     
  14. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Since you think we all are dumb, then go f**k yourself and instead turn off your f**king Wii so it TURNS RED, then the standby mode aint on!
     
  15. ciper

    Member ciper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    The point of the topic was that you thought the Wii was warm because it was connecting to your router too often.
    The logs you posted do not adequately fit with your assumption.
    You believe that the Tomato firmware's network logging function is better than a purpose built tool. At least if it was DD-WRT you'd have a leg to stand on lol
    You blocked your Wii's internet access? I thought you wanted to show us its LAN side traffic. Sounds like you may have gotten yourself confused. Don't worry, it happens to everyone when they are frustrated.

    Either way why not try to solve the problem instead of complaining? Delete the internet enabled channels on your Wii and see what happens. Its a piece of cake to remove all of the channels (except the disc channel) and copies can be reinstalled just as easily.
     
  16. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted to show WAN traffic? wut are you retarded? I never once said I wanted to show that. You clearly have need to learn how to read "GOODER"

    As for tomato and DDWRT can you be more of a retarded elitist? oh wait ...
     
  17. wzeroc

    Member wzeroc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Johor, Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    hey guys, he's just saying that the wii is always asking for a new lease, not anything else. ain't it quite obvious?

    anyway, demeaning people is not a good step in socialising...
     
  18. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Oh my god I found someone!
     
  19. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    I got DD-WRT v24 SP1 Mini and my Wii works fine, its cool and quiet!
     
  20. GN-001 Exia
    OP

    Banned GN-001 Exia Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    now ask why my friend Amy's Wii does the same thing
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page