1. HelloWorld13231323

    OP HelloWorld13231323 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I bought switch from japan auction and i noticed that it dosen't turn on. i bought it chap cost.
    so, i tried to find what wrong with this machine.

    first, i put it on my genuine dock connected with genuine AC adapter. i see the green light that connect with dock blink once.
    and it stops all steps and do nothing. even fans in switch don't run, no charge marks reveal. just like dead. it looks like don't start any boot process

    so i plugged AC adapter to switch directly, but it dosen't work either. same situation.

    After two attempts, I checked to see if the battery could not be charged due to a malfunction. I bought the battery from ali express, and replace the origin battery to newer one. and then, same Situation!

    geez... formal onwer, what did you do it with switch?...

    i just checked whether the board was burned, etc... and it looked fine. There was no smell of burnt.

    So i give up, and find other way to repair.

    is it the mother board problem? or other? anyone had the same situation before?
     
  2. Patapon3321

    Patapon3321 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    Dont u have multymeter to check shorts?
     
  3. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried pushing a payload to it like Hekate, using TegraRcmGUI, to see if it is in RCM (Recovery) mode?
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Jan 22, 2021
  4. HelloWorld13231323

    OP HelloWorld13231323 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Korea, South
    sadly, i don't have it...
    Yes. I tried all steps to see is it RCM Mode, but My PC dosen't detect it.(Switch Driver installed!)
     
  5. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried holding the power button down for like 20 seconds. Wait 10 seconds. Then try power on button again.
    I'd let it charge in dock also for whole day maybe battery fully dead, and it may need a trickle charge for long while to bring back alive.
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Jan 22, 2021
  6. Patapon3321

    Patapon3321 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    It could be the P13USB IC on the back motherboard side. I had once the problem that my PC didnt detect cause the dead P13USB IC
     
    Last edited by Patapon3321, Jan 22, 2021
  7. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    It could be the P13USB IC on the back motherboard side. I had once the problem that my PC didnt detect cause the dead P13USB IC


    It's not turning on at all tho...
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Jan 22, 2021
  8. Patapon3321

    Patapon3321 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    You realy need multymeter for problem like this.

    I call it, it is the P13USB
     
    lpoolm and BigOnYa like this.
  9. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Would that stop it from booting up? I don't know anything bout the P13USB to be honest, just curious myself.
     
  10. Patapon3321

    Patapon3321 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    Ofcourse it do, i had it with my switch.

    The P13USB IC is a Audio/Video controller. This IC is responsible for the Switch to TV Video/Audio transfer and of course more.

    The funny thing is, even it is broken you dont need to change it. You can just remove it and the switch should work again like before
    except for one exception you cant use your switch on TV till you replaced it^^
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  11. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I didn't know whether it would stop it from booting, thanks for answering. :grog:
     
  12. HelloWorld13231323

    OP HelloWorld13231323 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Wow. I will have to buy it and test it. Thank you.
     
  13. Patapon3321

    Patapon3321 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    Before you buy this IC. Buy a multymeter. It must not be the P13USB
     
  14. Dark Ronin

    Dark Ronin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    Russia
    The only thing I'd do if I were you is watch this video and second part of it -
    In the end you'll know Switch from inside out even better than your own organism.
    Good luck.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  15. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for this video! Bookmarked for sure!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, Switch, screen