GCN Nintendo GameCube - Hacking the games

  • Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 6,548
  • Replies 16
  • Likes 1
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
I've been wanting SO MUCH (don't ask why) to play as Sonic in Shadow the Hedgehog Game, and mess around with some other GameCube games, but I don't know how to do it, I found out a guy that did it, and I don't know how he did it, I have the ISO right here, can view the files on Dolphin, like extract them, I can do it, but I can't modify them, if somebody knows how to do it, please, I'm begging, let me know how, I would THANK the person so much! Here are the screenshots I found of it.

Also, apparently, the same guy managed to play some test levels of the same game, look at it!

PS: I found out what he did, he rebuilted the ISO, but how do I rebuild an ISO?
 

Attachments

  • shth_01.jpg
    shth_01.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 482
  • shth_02.jpg
    shth_02.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 426
  • shth_chr_03.jpg
    shth_chr_03.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 527
  • shth_chr_05.jpg
    shth_chr_05.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 515
  • shth_chr_06.jpg
    shth_chr_06.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 487
  • shth_chr_010.jpg
    shth_chr_010.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 727
  • shth_chr_011.jpg
    shth_chr_011.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 373
  • the_end_01.jpg
    the_end_01.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 619
  • the_end_02.jpg
    the_end_02.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 693
  • the_end_03.jpg
    the_end_03.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 1,001
Last edited by ,
  • Like
Reactions: TenhawkSynced

LanHikariDS

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
134
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,595
Country
United States
In your specific case, it might be easier to find a Gameshark/AR code for that, as it's just a simple mod (Assuming the game has a Sonic model present on the disc, which I assume it does)
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
In your specific case, it might be easier to find a Gameshark/AR code for that, as it's just a simple mod (Assuming the game has a Sonic model present on the disc, which I assume it does)
Actually I found a program called GCR (GameCubeRebuilder), but when I swap Shadow model with Sonic's,save the root and rebuild the iso, the game works fine at the menu screen, and when it loads the stage, it comes ENDLESS erros and doesn't work. I tried the same swapping Sonic's model for Shadow's or somebody else, the stage loads and Works fine, but when I get to Sonic, ENDLESS erros again, I tried then swapping Shadow's model with Sonic dff from Sonic Heroes and I got an invisible Shadow! :O
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
Here, I have got step by step shots of me swapping the Shadow model with Sonic's, as you can see both have the same size, opening the root, saving isso as test sonic, rebuilding it and testing the level, and this error keep coming ENDLESSLY, pressed and held the the Enter button (configurated as the Start button from Nintendo GameCube) and it NEVER ends! Any idea?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_1.png
    Screenshot_1.png
    22.3 KB · Views: 355
  • Screenshot_2.png
    Screenshot_2.png
    11.5 KB · Views: 360
  • Screenshot_3.png
    Screenshot_3.png
    20.2 KB · Views: 357
  • Screenshot_4.png
    Screenshot_4.png
    20.7 KB · Views: 384
  • Screenshot_5.png
    Screenshot_5.png
    307.4 KB · Views: 345
  • Screenshot_6.png
    Screenshot_6.png
    27.4 KB · Views: 342
  • Screenshot_7.png
    Screenshot_7.png
    13.6 KB · Views: 369
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
I also exctracted .one using Game Extractor, here's what I got :
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_8.png
    Screenshot_8.png
    4.6 KB · Views: 323
D

Deleted User

Guest
OP
If somebody wants to try it out, here's the download of GCR :
 

Attachments

  • gcr_1.0.zip
    47.7 KB · Views: 245

TenhawkSynced

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
32
Country
United States
Please don't bump old posts, also, that is not a solution

1. Didn't want to make a Duplicate Thread.
2. Didn't think this Thread was that old as it hadn't been a year. Apologies for the poor judgment.
3. Never said it was a solution, only that I figured it out. If he wants to know how, I'll explain.

Again, apologies.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,644
Trophies
2
XP
7,903
Country
Tuvalu
Please don't bump old posts, also, that is not a solution
if you want to be a good member/positive for the community, be productive instead of worrying about someone replying to a 6/7 month old thread...
your reply doesn't have a lot of community spirit

1. Didn't want to make a Duplicate Thread.
2. Didn't think this Thread was that old as it hadn't been a year. Apologies for the poor judgment.
3. Never said it was a solution, only that I figured it out. If he wants to know how, I'll explain.
Again, apologies.
don't apologize, you did nothing wrong! i would hate for people to get put off of posting like you did, in fear that the topic is a few months old etc, or that some backseat mod will get grumpy because what you shared wasn't good enough...

anyway, well done for your work and it would be a good idea if you want to share, so that people can recreate it :)
(who would ever imagine charmy in shadow the hedgehog lol, funny one)
 
Last edited by cearp,
  • Like
Reactions: gamesquest1

DoopzZ

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 19, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
60
Country
United States
Actually I found a program called GCR (GameCubeRebuilder), but when I swap Shadow model with Sonic's,save the root and rebuild the iso, the game works fine at the menu screen, and when it loads the stage, it comes ENDLESS erros and doesn't work. I tried the same swapping Sonic's model for Shadow's or somebody else, the stage loads and Works fine, but when I get to Sonic, ENDLESS erros again, I tried then swapping Shadow's model with Sonic dff from Sonic Heroes and I got an invisible Shadow! :O
$Show Exception Handler
0429d0bc 60000000
Use this Gecko Code
 

Attachments

  • upload_2017-6-20_19-45-32.png
    upload_2017-6-20_19-45-32.png
    156 KB · Views: 364

Alex S

Creator Of WWHDM, And Metroid Fusion XER0X!
Member
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
695
Trophies
0
Location
Hell
Website
www.erm.wut
XP
1,002
Country
United States
Here, I have got step by step shots of me swapping the Shadow model with Sonic's, as you can see both have the same size, opening the root, saving isso as test sonic, rebuilding it and testing the level, and this error keep coming ENDLESSLY, pressed and held the the Enter button (configurated as the Start button from Nintendo GameCube) and it NEVER ends! Any idea?

The errors are intentional in dolphin and can be disabled when playing hacks. Its a feature called "panic handlers" that will popup all of those warning when the real gamecube would have crashed at that point. So inside of your settings in the interface menu i believe, you can just disable them and the game will run normally with any mods.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cearp

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtu.be/JEFuHlAkoJs