Nintendo 64 reproduction boxes

laudern

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
719
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland, Australia
XP
1,620
Country
Australia
I've started to look into making some n64 reproduction boxes but I'm having difficulty in printing the boxes in the correct size.

I use this site to get the box image http://www.nintandbox.net/ but when I print the box out using the default picture viewer in Windows, it prints the box bigger than what it is.

How do I print the box in the correct size?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,379
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,002
Country
Norway
P
I've started to look into making some n64 reproduction boxes but I'm having difficulty in printing the boxes in the correct size.

I use this site to get the box image http://www.nintandbox.net/ but when I print the box out using the default picture viewer in Windows, it prints the box bigger than what it is.

How do I print the box in the correct size?
I usually use Photoshop, which also lets you set the dpi manually if it's set wrongly.
 

laudern

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
719
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland, Australia
XP
1,620
Country
Australia
Thanks guys. Let's say I use photoshop or GIMP to set the image to the right size, how would I then print that image out at a local print store, particularly if they did not have those programs on their pc?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,379
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,002
Country
Norway
Thanks guys. Let's say I use photoshop or GIMP to set the image to the right size, how would I then print that image out at a local print store, particularly if they did not have those programs on their pc?
They should be able to print psd files. Otherwise they are not worth bothering with IMO, as it is one of the most common formats used at least among professionals.
Print shops have to deal with that kind of thing all the time, because they print for businesses and such, and a lot of image formats don't actually specify how big the image should be printed (basically the only reason the dpi setting exists)
PSD specifies that, and also specifies what color formats should be used, as well as transparency (not that the latter matters much if your image has a white background), and when printing at home I find it gives good results, and better than some other programs.
Alternatively, converting it to PDF should work. PDF also has the ability to print to a certain size (probably one reason why it's so popular), however the actual size will sometimes depend on the printer you're using, because printers have a certain margin and they can't print outside that. That's easily solved by using a larger printer if you're a print shop, but for us at home stuck with A4 it's not that easy.
I worked at a print store for a while. A lot of what they printed was just in black and white but they did also do color, and more importantly they did custom jobs where they helped design a poster and so on. Their computers all had Photoshop installed. Maybe it's different where you live though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: laudern

laudern

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
719
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland, Australia
XP
1,620
Country
Australia
They should be able to print psd files. Otherwise they are not worth bothering with IMO, as it is one of the most common formats used at least among professionals.
Print shops have to deal with that kind of thing all the time, because they print for businesses and such, and a lot of image formats don't actually specify how big the image should be printed (basically the only reason the dpi setting exists)
PSD specifies that, and also specifies what color formats should be used, as well as transparency (not that the latter matters much if your image has a white background), and when printing at home I find it gives good results, and better than some other programs.
Alternatively, converting it to PDF should work. PDF also has the ability to print to a certain size (probably one reason why it's so popular), however the actual size will sometimes depend on the printer you're using, because printers have a certain margin and they can't print outside that. That's easily solved by using a larger printer if you're a print shop, but for us at home stuck with A4 it's not that easy.
I worked at a print store for a while. A lot of what they printed was just in black and white but they did also do color, and more importantly they did custom jobs where they helped design a poster and so on. Their computers all had Photoshop installed. Maybe it's different where you live though.


I know this is a lot to ask, but could you please help me set this up?

I downloaded gimp, as it is free. Could you please step me through as to how to get the box setup so it prints correctly using gimp?

I am trying to print the following box. I'm using the A3 paper size.

http://www.nintandbox.net/index.php...ding_N64-Box_AME(NUS-NTEE-USA).zip/file-4374/
 

KevinLSX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2016
Messages
526
Trophies
0
XP
1,113
Country
United States
I know this is a lot to ask, but could you please help me set this up?

I downloaded gimp, as it is free. Could you please step me through as to how to get the box setup so it prints correctly using gimp?

I am trying to print the following box. I'm using the A3 paper size.

http://www.nintandbox.net/index.php...ding_N64-Box_AME(NUS-NTEE-USA).zip/file-4374/

As long as the files are in their correct size from the place you linked, you can just open them in gimp-file-print.
 

laudern

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
719
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland, Australia
XP
1,620
Country
Australia
As long as the files are in their correct size from the place you linked, you can just open them in gimp-file-print.

Righto. I'll try that tomorrow. I have an a3 printer at my work I can test all this out before I go to the actual printer shop.


Having said that, I tried last week just printing from MS picture viewer and something odd happened. I measured the scale which is printed on the paper right beside the box art. The scale reads 2cm. I measured it to be 2.1cm/2.2cm. So that's pretty close. BUT, when I measure the length of the box art compared to an official n64 box I own, the printed box is like 2cm+ longer.

I live in Australia and am measuring an Australian n64 box and I'm printing out an American n64 box. Are the boxes the same size? Can someone please tell me (in cm) how long the front facing side of an American n64 box is?

EDIT - I just chose to download the goldeneye box art for US and Europe so I could compare. I simply printed both using the default picture view on os x. The US box art printed with the scale matching perfectly to 2cm and the borax matched to my official AU goldeneye box. The EU boxart scale was slightly better than the 2cm it states, and once again the boxart is about 2cm bigger than what it should be.

So my new question. How do I slightly shrink the box art using gimp so that the 2cm scale is exactly 2cm?
 
Last edited by laudern,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,379
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,002
Country
Norway
I know this is a lot to ask, but could you please help me set this up?

I downloaded gimp, as it is free. Could you please step me through as to how to get the box setup so it prints correctly using gimp?

I am trying to print the following box. I'm using the A3 paper size.

http://www.nintandbox.net/index.php...ding_N64-Box_AME(NUS-NTEE-USA).zip/file-4374/
I don't use GIMP so I can't help you there. But I assume there would be some sort of DPI/PPI setting somewhere.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @ZeroT21, The Russians are after you lol.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Send me your ip I'll remotely fix it
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    @K3Nv2 my head needs fixing if I believe you
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's kinda fun watching it happen tho
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It needs fixing for other things but your pc I can fix
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    over 300+ virus/trojians/worms after scanning, what did I do to deserve this attention lol
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    tho I find it funny when i receive other people's pc/laptops in this state
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i wont be upgrading unless I cant run the games i want anymore
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Spill water on it good excuse
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    @K3Nv2 that's like a valid option if someone else is paying for ya
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Daddy's wallet
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ngl hogwarts legacy has good pooping music
  • OctoAori20 @ OctoAori20:
    That's uh-
  • OctoAori20 @ OctoAori20:
    That's certainly a Dairy Queen sign lmao
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You should see his help wanted signs
  • OctoAori20 @ OctoAori20:
    Ugh, so many sweat-dipwads in Sploon 3 Anarchy mode tonight
  • OctoAori20 @ OctoAori20:
    I didn't know this was "Make Octo never finish Fresh Season 2024 Catalog in Splatoon 3" month, good god
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What's the point of "confirming" games you know will get released. Like Nintendo "confirming" a Zelda sequel. "We can't be sure Nintendo is working on a new Zelda game, or if a new Zelda game will ever be released, until they officially confirm it."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "There is literally no way to know if they will ever release a new Zelda game, it's wild speculation until they officially confirm it."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Black ops was the lesser shitter line in cock a poopoo tbf just a way to let people know it hasn't died or going a different route I guess
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $70 DLC per 6 months is what it turned into
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/R28ZSY2Sc2A?si=H5Lb6PNkzMhAHO_P