Nfs loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by david432111, Dec 21, 2008.

Dec 21, 2008

Nfs loading by david432111 at 11:27 AM (822 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. david432111
    OP

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Thanks to the slow loading times, you can actually out run the loading times and drive in to nothing. This makes a lot of the game almost unplayable and ruins cop chases. Will 6x speed ever come?
     
  2. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    You need a modchip to run things in 6x.
     
  3. david432111
    OP

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well duh. Did you even read the post?
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Dude, understand this.

    Backups in the Wii drive, although the Wii recognize it as an original disc, the game still runs on 3x. Why? Let's just say the drive still reads it as a backup, NOT AN ORIGINAL. That's where modchip comes in. It makes the drive reads the backup as if it's an original.

    In conclusion, the 6x has already come, but only for modchip users. But the speed is not restricted to Disc Channel alone, it applies to all of the homebrew apps that utilizes the DVD Drive. Which means:

    1)Gamma 6x with modchip
    2)MplayerWii/Mplayer 6x with modchip
    3)Gecko OS 6x with modchip
    4)etc 6x with modchip
     
  5. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    This game is written so poorly that even if you could read at 60 speed it still wouldnt be as playable as the other versions ...
     
  6. ppc_gba

    Member ppc_gba GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    ya, you can still play thru the cop chases, but the checkpoint based challenges are nearly impossible at some points. what you can do if you're playing a challenge, make a mental note of where the game freezes, or where you think it will freeze based on the missing buildings/stuff. push pause (+) right before you get there. if you do it right, it will lock up just as it goes to the pause menu, so it can load the rest of that part of the level and then goes directly to pause so that you can then resume without your car stalling out and flashing like it was being beamed into outer space. it's also weird how the camera suddenly turns around when that happens...

    seems like these new games that render downtown areas in high detail at high speed are prone to slowness and glitches, either that or the makers of gta iv and nfs need to better optimize their games. it could also be that some hardware is just not fast enough to support all of those models in memory at once, or to load all the news ones fast enough. it would explain why it mainly has some freeze issues when a lot of buildings are being rendered.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe WiiGator's new DIP plugin for IOS55 will fix this. But don't ask when he will release it, he already told it won't be in this year.
     

Share This Page