New wii, issues playing backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Acester, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009
  1. Acester
    OP

    Newcomer Acester Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey all, I've modded 2 wiis in my time and this is my 3rd, but the difference between the last two I've done are very old, and this one is brand new. So here's the story:

    The wii was at 4.2, so I used xzxero's guide for modding 4.2U. Backed up the NAND, Restored Trucha bug sucessfully, deleted the stub IOS's, then I ran Waninkoko's cIOS38rev15 installer (I was unaware that there's a rev16..) then ran Hermes cIOS222/223 Installer. After that, I put in a backup and launched neogamma R8 beta 14, and clicked the load backup from DVD button. Green screen, black, then Error #001, something about a device detected or something.

    So I looked around and then discovered that there was a rev16 of the cIOS38 installer, so I went ahead and just installed it like the last one, and it says everything went fine and was sucessful.

    So now I try to load a backup from negoamma again, and the dvd spins up for a long time and then times out.. What the heck is going on? Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks.
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use rev14 for neogamma
     
  3. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    yes use rev14 of neogamma if it still gets u a green screen or errors try getting the new USB loader or Gecko os since they can run disks on there newer versions with good copatibility
     
  4. Epsilonsama

    Newcomer Epsilonsama Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I would suggest investing on an Hard Drive and using usb loaders, it works with all Wii systems.
     
  5. miketh2005

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    it probably has a D3-2 chipset which is not capable of running DVD backups, and never will be. nintendo pwnt us.
     
  6. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    New Wii's have the new D3-2 DVD drive that won't play backup discs AT ALL.
    USB it.
    Get a USB stick/HD and you'll be playing in no time..........

    Sorry, I was 2 minutes late posting this...........
     
  7. Acester
    OP

    Newcomer Acester Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Canada
    I am using neogamma R8 beta 14... is this what you mean by rev 14? Sorry if that's a stupid question..

    Also, I've read around a bit and I'm seeing that some new wiis can't play backups from a dvd?

    Edit: Yeah, It's probably a new chipset. Thanks guys. [​IMG] I'll look into usb loading.
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use cIOS rev14 as neogamma was written for it and doesn't work well with r15 and r16 if that doesn't work then usb loaders is the only way to go
     
  9. miketh2005

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    i know, it sucks. they say you can swap the chipset, but i dont know how/what to buy. anyone knows?
     
  10. TheNewbPleaser

    Member TheNewbPleaser GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    Country:
    Costa Rica

    Dont change the chipset it might be risky just get a HDD and u can get all games u want and u know it will eventually become cheaper then buying good quality disks since bad qualitly usually dont work [​IMG]
     
  11. Acester
    OP

    Newcomer Acester Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, I just installed cIOS rev 14. It worked. I'm shocked lol

    15 and 16 didn't work, I wonder why that is?

    Anyways.. One final, last problem. When I try to start up a NSMB backup dvd, neogamma loads it up, green screen, black screen, and then the wii goes to the system menu. How odd. It only happens with NSMB though, what's up with that?
     
  12. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  13. Acester
    OP

    Newcomer Acester Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh, it just needs a patch lol

    Okay! I think it's all complete and I am satisfied, thanks all for the fast, quick help!!
     

Share This Page