Hacking New to homebrew/CFW... few questions.

DrkrZen

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So, I only recently began messing with homebrew, and have been dragging my heels in regards to upgrading to CFW, while messing with my Wii U, but I have a question.

From my DS days, I still have both an R4 DS and R4 3DS flashcarts that I backed up my physical game collection to, as well as had some ebooks on... am I able to use either of these on the 3DS with homebrew? Or, would making them available to use only be a feat CFW can do?

Also, one other quick question... I began homebrewing a bit about 2-3 weeks before the most recent 3DS update dropped. I still haven't updated, so would continuing with a tutorial to install CFW be ideal? Or, should I update, then do the whole homebrew -> CFW thing, again? And, what's the most user (see: newb) friendly/recommended CFW?

I've little experience, as I've only messed with modding my PSP ages ago, DS shortly after that and my Wii a few years ago. So, thanks in advance for any advice, help or combination thereof. =)

Kirxivy

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
About the R4s, i'm pretty sure they would work on Luma3DS CFW as it automatically patches flashcarts(not sure tho).
As for the update, don't. The exploits used to install CFW were patched on the latest update. you can use ctr-httpwn to access internet services on an outdated firmware.
Luma3DS is the most user friendly CFW as of right now
If you're going to install CFW, you should follow 3ds.guide only (very carefully btw), it will guide you through every step in detail. Be sure to read the main page's description through it's entirety first
Note that installing CFW puts you on the risk of making your 3DS unusable, so be aware of that.
You can also install an EmuNAND instead so that if something goes wrong, only your EmuNAND bricks and not the system itself. Not sure about how to do it in the newer FWs tho

Reactions: DrkrZen

TheToaster

Kishore
Trophies
XP
Country