New SD cards, nothing shows in HBC

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by slimpyman, Aug 13, 2008.

Aug 13, 2008
  1. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all, im new here... always go to these forums for reference, but never actually needed to post, UNTIL NOW! lol

    anyway, my gf took off and took my sd card for her camera. I have a different sd card, and I formatted it using fat (16). I made a folder called "apps" in the root, and placed the folder "mplayer" in the "apps" folder. i load up the homebrew channel, and there is not a single listing there... i rechecked it, and its there, its just not showing up... any takers?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    did you put the files from mplayer in the mplayer folder.
     
  3. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the Mplayer folder there should be a .dol file. You need to rename this to 'boot.dol' from whatever it was before. Try that an see if it works. It should.
     
  4. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    definitely... i pretty much did one of those "click and drag" deals.

    my root only contains the folder "apps"

    the apps folder only contains the "mplayer" folder.

    the mplayer folder has all the junk in it
     
  5. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    in the mplayer folder was already a file: "bool.dol"
    >_< meh. thanks though
     
  6. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    make sure the sd card is inserted before you load the HBC.
     
  7. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    yeah... its in there before i boot up the hbc
     
  8. darkmaster_101

    Newcomer darkmaster_101 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does any other homebrew show?
    try renaming the folder to something else

    do you have the latest homebrew channel?
     
  9. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    all i did was have mplayer in the apps folder...

    i think i may have found out the problem.

    its an 8mb old sd card.
    i tried doing a defrag on it and it says windows defragger only works in 16bit and 32bit fat partitions, not 12-bit fat partitions... 12 bit fat-partition. what in da hell? lol
     
  10. thejellydude

    Member thejellydude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    The most common thing I see with this is that the SD card is locked. It's such a tiny thing, no one ever seems to notice it. Make sure yours isn't, since the Wii is notorious in pushing the lock button back.
     
  11. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    i think you need at least a 128mb sd card.
     
  12. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    there isnt even a lock switch on this sd card. rofl
     
  13. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Why do they even have that feature in the first place? Thanks to that, whenever I put my SD card into my computer it locks it, and I have to use a Micro SD with a USB adapter... Seriously, I put the SD card in there to edit it, why would it lock? [​IMG]
     
  14. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Due to it being THAT small, i suppose it goes for the old fat12 format automaticly ( FAT Wiki )
    and as far as i know HBC only supports Fat16/32
     
  15. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    dude, do you think i could FORCE a fat16 format? my woman is outta town till next week, and i dont watch dvds. but with the new release of mplayer, i feel compelled to watch a dvd. crap.
     
  16. Gnac

    Newcomer Gnac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like you might have an old MultiMediaCard. They're the same shape as SD cards, but with a couple of subtle differences besides the lack of a write-protect switch.
     
  17. slimpyman
    OP

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States

    i suppose either it is a MMC or it is a 12bit sd card. either way, im screwed. thanks for the insight gnac ;-)
     

Share This Page