New R4DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by drunknmaster, Apr 25, 2009.

Apr 25, 2009

New R4DS by drunknmaster at 6:23 AM (974 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. drunknmaster
    OP

    Newcomer drunknmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a new R4DS and tried to set it up and when I turned it on my DS I got a lil blue box on the bottom with what looks like Korean characters (it could be chinese or something else for all I know) and it wont let me touch anything on the screen or nothing I do changes this screen. I took the microSD card out and put into another R4DS card I have and it worked fine, so Im assuming its the R4 cartridge. Is this something that I can fix or is it defective?
     
  2. Deathmore

    Member Deathmore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like you have 2 different versions. You will the need the correct firmware for the new on you bought since the R4 team is dead and the real R4 doesnt exist. You need to look at your new R4's box and find it's web adress and only use that firmware for it
     
  3. drunknmaster
    OP

    Newcomer drunknmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I bought 2 R4DS's and they got here at the same time. One worked fine and the other (see above). I did what you said and looked at the box for the site, its www.r4ds.com. What firmware are you referring to?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Andytoxic

    Newcomer Andytoxic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Antixenophobitia
    Country:
    Germany
    When there's printed "R4DS.com" the you must have a chinese Version of the original R4 i think.

    Then, please download the chinese R4 firmware first to test if its working then.

    Here's a link: http://www.r4ds.cn/chinese/SChinese-1.18.rar

    When it's working, please download a prepatched R4DS English version for the chinese R4DS from the GBAtemp downloads page. If there isn't any prepathced version, then i'll upload one, just post in this topic
     
  5. drunknmaster
    OP

    Newcomer drunknmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I downloaded what you told me and now it works which is cool. So where do I find the English patch you are referring too?
     
  6. drunknmaster
    OP

    Newcomer drunknmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I found and english for chinese one and it worked perfect thank you very much guys..... [​IMG]
     
  7. Andytoxic

    Newcomer Andytoxic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Antixenophobitia
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page