New and need help

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Linkrlz, Jan 25, 2011.

Jan 25, 2011

New and need help by Linkrlz at 10:13 PM (1,392 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Hello all. I'm new to PSP modding so I need a little bit of help.

    First, I used this video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hh5BbDCuV74

    So what I have is basically what this person has.

    Now I started dragging ISOs and CSOs to the ISO folder and alot of them run fine.

    But some will give me the "The game could not be run" error and resets. Metal Slug XX and Project Diva 2nd.

    I'm sure there's something I need to install or upgrade to get the most recent games running. Please help and thank you.
     


  2. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
  3. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    m33-4 actually Sorry
     
  4. JamesCID

    Newcomer JamesCID Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Mexico
    You have to decrypt/patch the games or update to 5.00 Prometheus 4

    You can find info and DL links for prome 4 in google.

    Just my opinion but, don't update to GEN D3 as Jolan mentioned, M33 is more stable and has better performance.

    EDIT: First update to M33-6, probably you can run Prome 4 directly from M33-4 but just to be on the safe side.
     
  5. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Oops. Yeah I had m33-6
     
  6. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    What's prometheus 4? And I do I place that under GAME like the updates?
     
  7. JamesCID

    Newcomer JamesCID Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Mexico

    It's an addon that allows you to play more recent games, basically just overwrites some files for compatibility:

    Link

    Run the File as a game and make sure you get the one for 5.00, not the others. There are instructions in that page.
     
  8. Son of Science

    Member Son of Science GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Sand Iego
    Country:
    United States
    Is it really too much to Google something?

    -Korey St. John
     
  9. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I got the one for 5.0 m33, ran it, but the game still says it can't be started. Maybe it's just the game. I'll try Metal Slug XX right now.

    I got the game from here (edited) and it says it's patched. I'll get back when I try Metal Slug XX
     
  10. JamesCID

    Newcomer JamesCID Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Mexico
    Don't post links to ISOs, it's against the site rules.

    Also, have you tried changing the ISO loader?
     
  11. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I guess this is where I start messing up then. What ISO loader? I just placed them under the ISO folder ^^;
     
  12. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Push select on your xmb. VSH menu pops up. Change the ISO driver to the Sony np9660 option.
     
  13. JamesCID

    Newcomer JamesCID Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Mexico
    The UMD ISO Mount option in the VSH Menu (Press select, it's the fourth option or so) Try changing it from M33 to Sony
     
  14. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help guys but nothing seems to work. [​IMG] Not even changing the loader.
     
  15. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ask wherever you got your games from....
     
  16. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I'll try that. Neither of the above games ran but the older ones did. Thanks anyway for the assistance :3
     
  17. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your help guys.

    I did the following

    1. Goto Recovery Menu (turn off then hold R and turn on)
    2. Configuration -> Use NO-UMD (Disable it)
    3. Go all the way back to main menu
    4. Advanced -> Advanced Configuration -> (Disable all of them)

    from this thread http://www.pspmod.com/forums/psp-software-...80020148-a.html

    It started working and I don't think I should any repercussions. You guys are awesome
     
  18. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Last question guys. Is there a way to run new UMDs now that I'm custom firmware? Example my Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep UMD? If I try running it it says I need to upgrade. Am I screwed if I want to play new UMDs?
     
  19. JamesCID

    Newcomer JamesCID Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Mexico
    Follow this

    Be careful if you have to edit anything in the Flash0
     
  20. Linkrlz
    OP

    Newcomer Linkrlz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man. Editing the flash 0 got it working. I just need to make my psnlover working but after reading I don't think it works with m33-6 so I won't bother you guys with it :3

    Thanks for all your help JamesCID
     

Share This Page