New #002 protection?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kedest, Nov 19, 2008.

Nov 19, 2008

New #002 protection? by kedest at 11:58 AM (101,357 Views / 0 Likes) 396 replies

  1. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've seen reports on 2 different sites now by people who seem to have discovered a new error.
    First we had the 001 error that first showed up in galaxy, and now the new need for speed game has this:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    (not my own picture)
     


  2. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Ah now we know what the "Improved disc reading" in the 3.4 update is. [​IMG]
     
  3. amzo

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Improved disc reading.......maybe anti-scrubber protection?
     
  5. amzo

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I updated my PAL D2pro console to system 3.4e and tried again but same error?...Homebrew channel etc is still on my system and working fine??
     
  6. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    United States
    Oh dear. Wiikey1 owners get ready to install new chips.
     
  7. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    why? I'm not updating and I guess everyone here on GBAtemp that has a brain won't either.
    I'm not worried even the slightest.

    Don't go scaring people willy nilly... [​IMG]
     
  8. Player77

    Newcomer Player77 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why Wiikey1 owners?
    The people in the other thread who were having problems,
    are talking about d2pro and wasabi.
     
  9. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    pretty sure you get the error if you don't update, but people are saying different things.
     
  10. kedest
    OP

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then it really might be the chip it's detecting. Interesting. Apparantly the game sucks, but I might just download and try it to see what my Wii does (modded with a yaosm chip)
     
  11. maggot666

    Newcomer maggot666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Bad dump? New protection? Wiiscrubber protection?
     
  12. amzo

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Bad news is I now cannot downgrade back to 3.2e!...Starfall no longer loads.... [​IMG] Oh well....
     
  13. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    interesting, never heard of this new protection!
    going to have little check very soon [​IMG]
     
  14. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    anybody tryd on wiigator 0.3 gamma ? ill try later
     
  15. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    has any modchip users ran it through GeckoOS?
     
  16. amzo

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Opps sorry...forgot its not starfall to downgrade its any region changer...But I still get loads of RET errors...Seemed to try to downgrade but then gave an error at the end of installation..Rebooted and system menu is still 3.4e...Good thing my wii is chipped...Games are still working fine! Apart from Need for Speed undercover..but I think other games coming out may have the same protection applied....Not looking too good at the moment though [​IMG]
     
  17. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey, have you ran it through geckoOS???
     
  18. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @nicksasa: Burning now, will try through gamma in about 15 mins.
     
  19. amzo

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep GeckoOS and Wiigator Gamma 0.3 and softchip/mod R51
     
  20. Paul06TC

    Newcomer Paul06TC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running 3.3U - 1.9s Wiikey. Tried this in the Disc Channel and Gecko

    Disc Channel - Black Screen
    Gecko - Error #002
     

Share This Page