NES Problem.

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Adr990, Jul 7, 2011.

Jul 7, 2011

NES Problem. by Adr990 at 8:37 PM (901 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello GBATempers,

    I bought some Pirate Carts for the NES, and fingured I had to disable the Lockout chip, so I did, I did pull the 4th pin of the lockout chip up, and it came lose.
    I tested SMB/Duckhunt and Top Gun before doing this, they worked great as I have a new 72pin. and cleaned everything.

    But now, all NES games stopped working or have graphical problems!!

    I'm really sure I'd only touch the Lockout Chip 4th Pin.
    Is there something I missed out?

    I really don't want to see my NES gapping dust. [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance from me and my NES.

    Greetings,
    Adr990
     
  2. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    You probably messed something else up... can I see pics of your work?
     
  3. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Alright, hang on.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Done. heh
     
  4. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So like, the games are working, but it's like the graphical problem when you pull the cartridge a little out, or did spring it up.
     
  5. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    T_T That happens with the front loaders. You're not supposed to move the cart once you "click it" down in there. I never had an NES that DID NOT glitch up when you messed with the cart.

    I suggest A. upgrading to a top loader (PLAYS. EVERYTHING) and get an adaptor (you can make one yourself with Certain copies of Gyromite or a retail convertor to play imports. You get your pirate FC games with the convertor, and all your other stuff works perfectly on the top loader beast.

    OR MAYBE I still am reading your posts wrong. try not putting "like"everywhere; it's fine when you're talking but it's confusing when you type it out. >_>
     
  6. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh I'm sorry.

    What I meant was that while the game is inserted correctly, without moving, the games give me graphical errors.

    Which do look the same as if you did move the cartridge, without the lockout chip mod.
    Not that I do move the game cartridges and think it's weird that they give me graphical errors.

    It's because I did do the lockout chip mod it is giving me those graphical errors, but they look the same as like I did move them, which I do not.

    -=-=-

    So any idea why the Lockout chip is going shit like this on me? heh
     
  7. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed in your pictures, you don't have pin 4 connected to Ground.

    You'll want to take Pin 4 and connect it to Ground for stability; THAT may be the cause of your errors. SOMETIMES it works just snipping it off completely, but for proper results that's what you wanna do.

    Source: experience, as well as

    http://kyorune.com/modding/article.php?id=26
    http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/nes_mod/nes_mod_en.php#4

    It requires soldering and wire.


    It is the ONLY thing I could think of... you MAY have also accidentially moved the 72 while you work working on it (or putting the plastic "cart slot" back on) and it's loose and or out of place. make sure it's nice, even and snug.
     
  8. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ahh thanks man, I will try that tomorrow.

    I wanted to buy some wire, but my local store didn't have it, I will go to this other store they have it.

    I should have tried it first, but I was worried about my Nintendo. heh
     
  9. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    No problem. [​IMG] I hope that you can get it working again. [​IMG]

    To deprive a man of his NES... you might as well just take away his penis. [​IMG]

    Wish you luck. [​IMG]
     
  10. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Heya,

    I tried this, multiple times, to multiple groundings, but as soon as I do so, the NES doesn't turn on anymore.

    As soon as I de solder the wire from the grounding, it works again, but still with the graphic problems.

    So, I probably am doing something wrong at the grounding..?
     
  11. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    these new connectors can still have corrosion on them because lets face it they sit in a warehouse for who knows how long till they get sold, try this clean the cartridge connector with a q-tip covered with WD-40(spray the q-tip not the connector directly)
    the WD-40 should remove and corrosion on the 72-pin connector, then go behind that with some rubbing alcohol.
    also use a can of duster on the motherboards chips.
    if you think it might help use the WD-40 and rubbing alcohol on your cartridge contacts too, i do this every six month on all my cartridge games, had to do it once on a connector i reset the pins on.
    if you had a nes cleaning kit i'd say put the WD-40 on the contacts of it and wiggle it around in the nes connector good you can try that with just a normal game too if you want, if you think you can't do it properly with a q-tip directly on the connectors.
     
  12. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, I'll take a look at the connector, when you put a game in (without the plastic) you can see how this connector's pins ain't even... Some are pushed down lower than the others, that might be a problem also.

    I normally clean with Brasso. I'll try the idea of using WD-40 tomorrow, thanks. [​IMG]
     
  13. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are a couple of tutorials on the net somewhere about how to bend the contacts up a bit so that they make a better connection. Some people even claim that after doing so, they don't even need to click the cart down after inserting it. I think the most common method is to use a bent paperclip or safety pin to lever the contacts up a bit.
     
  14. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    it's true you don't need to click the cart down if you do it just right, the connector i fix'd in my sharp nes tv was that way after realigning the pins with a bent sewing needle and cleaning them with the WD-40 method i mentioned.
    just careful not to bend them up too far as the pins can break easily
     
  15. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I did bind the pins up already, I re done it again though.
    I just tried the WD 40, I did put it on a few q-tips, even on a game, used a old shirt to wipe everything off.

    Some how surprised, there came a quite some dirt from the connector on the mother board.
    I tried it via a Composite cable, it didn't work. So I thought RF may works, as I may did somehow manage to break the Composite output.
    But sadly, I've got the same graphical problem.

    I don't know if this NES can be recovered.. I'll go and google some around more, maybe even mess on the board, and check every connection.

    I'll be sure to report back if I got it fixed, heh.
     

Share This Page