Needing a netbook

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Tokiopop, Aug 31, 2010.

Aug 31, 2010

Needing a netbook by Tokiopop at 11:09 PM (864 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Tokiopop
    OP

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Preferably something with a fast integrated wireless card (packet injection is a must, for BackTrack).

    I've not had a netbook, and don't know much about them, but a reasonable processor (HD playback not a must, but nice) and preferably 2GB RAM (1GB will be sufficient though, as long as 2GB can later be installed). 250GB HDD for a few OSes (a hackintosh compatible netbook would be a big bonus).

    A long lasting battery is a must. SD card reader would be nice, and I don't know if these are even done, but a SIM card reader for 3G connectivity? That would be a major selling point.

    And I think that's about it [​IMG]

    Obviously I'm not expecting a netbook with all of this, but the more the better [​IMG]

    Budget of around £300-£350.

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. c0wcommander

    Newcomer c0wcommander Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Asus makes good netbooks. I don't know about the newer models, but I've had a Asus 4g for three years now. Works great, but if you want a good battery life, you usually need to buy an aftermarket battery. The one I got lasts 6 to 7 hours and cost $50
     
  3. Tokiopop
    OP

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looking at the HP Mini 210 with the N550, but you can only customise it on the US site. Ffffuuuuu-
     
  4. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not bad I suppose. There are places here where you can customize them.
     
  5. Tokiopop
    OP

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you remember any? I've been googling for ages now [​IMG]

    This is what I have on the US site, did want the 5103 (or something like that, but I made it cost like $800 LOL).


    charcoal
    Genuine Windows 7 Premium 32-bit
    Intel Atom? N550 (dual core,1.50GHz) + Broadcom Video accelerator + Intel Graphics 3150
    2GB DDR3 System Memory (1 Dimm)
    250GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
    Microsoft Office Starter 2010
    6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery - Up to 10.75 hours of battery life +++
    10.1" diagonal High Definition HP BrightView Infinity LED Display (1366 x 768)
    Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone
    802.11b/g/n WLAN and BluetoothÂ
    93% Full-size island-style keyboard
    Embedded GPS module with HP Navigator software
    HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope

    I still need to check if the chipset on the WLAN can packet inject...
     
  6. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just do what I did. Type into google "Upgrade my laptop" it gives you loads of places. To upgrade ram it's about £40 typically. So you could get the mega cheap one that has practically nothing useful on it and just upgrade it.
    This site is quite good for RAM stuff.
     
  7. Tokiopop
    OP

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't mind upgrading the RAM etc, but I need to customise the CPU from HP themselves, but that option is only available on the US site.
     
  8. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go to PC World or some place similar and ask to customize it.
     
  9. Tokiopop
    OP

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Again, they wont do CPU, just HDD and RAM (if I'm lucky) which I can do myself, cheaper.
     

Share This Page