Need to format SD card?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by AaronUzumaki, Aug 24, 2011.

Aug 24, 2011

Need to format SD card? by AaronUzumaki at 1:31 AM (1,399 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. AaronUzumaki
    OP

    Member AaronUzumaki A.K.A. Ecstasy Espeon

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I have an 8 GB SDHC and it works fine in my 3DS, but when put into my computer, I get an error that says it needs formatted, so it won't open. Yet, when I put it back in my 3DS, it works stupendously. Anybody know what the problem might be? I've been searching, but can't really find much about it...
     
  2. Satirical

    Newcomer Satirical Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could be a problem with the hardware you're using to connect it to your PC, like a SD-USB converter that isn't too good.
     
  3. AaronUzumaki
    OP

    Member AaronUzumaki A.K.A. Ecstasy Espeon

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    It is the built-in reader. It reads everything else.
     
  4. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like It has something to do with how the file system was formatted, like in NTSC, FAT, FAT32. Maybe the 3DS can read the file system but your computer can't...
     
  5. AaronUzumaki
    OP

    Member AaronUzumaki A.K.A. Ecstasy Espeon

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I know my computer can read NTFS, exFAT, FAT16, and FAT32. What format could it possibly be? (I used another computer that read it fine to put the files on it from the default 2 GB.)
     
  6. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Maybe you have a virus on your computer.
     
  7. AaronUzumaki
    OP

    Member AaronUzumaki A.K.A. Ecstasy Espeon

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Like I said, it reads other cards. Oh well... I'll just have to find another way to put more music on it...
     
  8. bahamut920

    Member bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes there are... quirks in individual pieces of hardware that can prevent one device from reading external media formatted in a file system the system should normally be able to read. It used to happen all the time with floppy disks. I think it has to do with the error tolerance of the hardware. Try putting the card back into the computer that can read it, back up your files, then allow the computer you want to be able to read it to format the card. Then, before you replace the backup files, test the card in your 3DS to see if your 3DS will read it after the format (if it doesn't, you'll have to reformat the card; no sense wasting time copying stuff you'll just have to re-copy later). Most likely, this will work, and your other hardware should be able to read the card after the format. Now, you copy your backed-up data back to the SD card.
     

Share This Page