Need opinions....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by syst3merror, Dec 21, 2009.

Dec 21, 2009

Need opinions.... by syst3merror at 5:14 AM (1,092 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I have an idea what it might be, but I want to see if anyone has a suggestion I might not have tried.....

    Also note, I haven't changed anything on my wii (no updates, installs, new wads, etc) since it previously worked

    Ok, when I try to sync my remotes, they won't! The lights on the remotes blink 4 lights, but won't sync up.

    I've tried:
    1. New batteries and the typical pressing sync button on controller/wii: Nothing
    2. Held sync button on wii for over a minute to reset sync and then tried 1. again: Nothing
    3. I've tried other remotes that I have: Nothing
    4. I've held the sync buttons for misc. amounts of time: Nothing
    5. Unplugged everything and retried: Nothing
    6. Let the wii stay turned on for 24 hrs: Nothing
    7. Finally, let the wii SIT for 24 hrs and then retried all the previous steps: Nothing


    Now, at this point, I have come to the conclusion that it is the bluetooth module and have ordered a replacement but again, I wanted to make sure there wasn't any other suggestions that I might not have tried that could fix my problem.

    thanks guys! I figure if anyone would know, gbatemp would!
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    for 1 you must be in the system manu or a game to sync wiimotes. no homebrew.
    second, the system menu wont start if the bluetooth doodad is bad. you just get a nice blackscreen.
     
  3. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    It's probably the blue tooth module since you say it was working and just quit.

    Now if you uninstalled the system menu through wad manager i believe that causes the remotes not to sync anymore as well but since you said you did nothing to it then replacing the blue tooth module is the best logical explanation.
     
  4. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    no, I didn't uninstall any wads at all.

    my wii has priiloader installed and the coverfloater dol is installed to boot at startup. I've never had a problem at all until just the other day when I turned it on it wouldn't sync....nothing had changed. I use to be able to turn on the wii and they would sync right up, but not now.

    December 11th we sat around playing "Lets Tap" for a couple of hours and when we went to bed, I turned off the wii. December 15th I turned on the wii so my son could play the New Mario Bros and the controllers wouldn't sync up at all....none of the 3!

    They sync up fine to my friends wii, but not ours. [​IMG]

    I will let you know the outcome of the bluetooth as soon as it shows up.
     
  5. jstevenson72

    Newcomer jstevenson72 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    61240
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem as you today... [​IMG]

    I was repairing a friend's Wii, and I made the mistake of syncing both of my controllers to their Wii. Now I am stuck with my Wii being remoteless...

    I have PriiLoader autoloading Configurable Loader... I am also having trouble getting it to recognize a BootMii SD card, I had it once, but it won't seem to see the card with PriiLoader installed.

    Does anyone know how to disable PriiLoader without a WiiMote?

    Thanks,

    Jake (Now feeling like a fool)
     
  6. jstevenson72

    Newcomer jstevenson72 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    61240
    Country:
    United States
    After searching and reading, it appears as though a GC Controller is our only hope (Obey One)...

    Off to Walmart...

    Jake
     
  7. jstevenson72

    Newcomer jstevenson72 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    61240
    Country:
    United States
    The new GC Controller fixed my issue. I used it to launch the system menu from PriiLoader.

    I guess thats the drawback to PriiLoader launching Cfg directly...

    Jake
     
  8. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    glad you sorted your issue out, but i gotta ask, "Obey One" ? - are you a chick or something?
     
  9. jeanrmarques

    Newcomer jeanrmarques Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Pelotas - RS - Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
  10. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    ok, I want to thank you guys a million times over! It wasn't the bluetooth (damnit, anyone want to buy a new bluetooth module? haha)

    after reading other peoples problems, I searched through my box of old consoles and dug out a GC controller and changed priiloader to boot to system menu instead of coverfloater and it synced right up when it made it to the system menu!

    Thanks again guys....you really pulled through for me and saved my Christmas! [​IMG]

    Merry Christmas everyone!
     

Share This Page