Need help with using Flashcart on 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by b1uens0w, Apr 24, 2017.

  1. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
    So I recently tried using my original R4 on my o3ds. I searched online for guides on making this work, and found one. But when I installed the wood r4 cia, and put my flash cart running wood r4 in it, it gives me a black screen and the icons with no names. Any help?

    i have attached an image below P4230002.JPG
     
    Last edited by b1uens0w, Apr 24, 2017
  2. Dionicio3

    Dionicio3 GBATemp's Official Skiddo™ | Founder of Skiddoism

    Member
    2,829
    3,664
    Feb 26, 2017
    United States
    Hollister, CA
    Firmware version? Also, the image is broken
     
  3. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
    running latest update 11.4
    luma cfw 7.0

    thanks
     
  4. Dionicio3

    Dionicio3 GBATemp's Official Skiddo™ | Founder of Skiddoism

    Member
    2,829
    3,664
    Feb 26, 2017
    United States
    Hollister, CA
    Why not use freeshop since you have luma?
     
  5. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    9,781
    5,107
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    You do realise that R4s are for DS games right?
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  6. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    958
    129
    Nov 30, 2008
    United States
    California
    Can you post a picture of the card, please? There are so many clones/versions of this card. Thanks!
     
  7. Dionicio3

    Dionicio3 GBATemp's Official Skiddo™ | Founder of Skiddoism

    Member
    2,829
    3,664
    Feb 26, 2017
    United States
    Hollister, CA
    Whoops
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  8. fenderjaguar

    fenderjaguar GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    252
    46
    Sep 19, 2015
  9. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
    Here are the pictures that I took in case any one might need to see them.
    P4240004.JPG P4240005.JPG P4240009.JPG P4240010.JPG P4240011.JPG

    shown are all the launchers i've tried using and they all didnt work. I think I might need to patch my TWL_firm? I have no idea how to do that though, I've read it before.
     
  10. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    958
    129
    Nov 30, 2008
    United States
    California
    Oh man, you are trying it all. Have you tried forwarders?
     
  11. SomecallmeBerto

    SomecallmeBerto The Anti-Hero

    Member
    1,097
    655
    Dec 17, 2014
    United States
    USA
    Wow that cart is old. Have you considered upgrading? You could get a new one for less than 20. Sorry if it's not much help as I haven't seen one of these in YEARS.
     
  12. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
    I actually have one of the newer ones, the 2016 R4i SDHC, but I want to try to get this one working for my brothers 3DS :P
     
  13. ZhafuanZ

    ZhafuanZ Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    74
    6
    Dec 5, 2016
    Malaysia
    Doesn't the cartridge (from images) only works on a DS and not a 3DS?
     
  14. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
  15. penchostella

    penchostella Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    3
    Dec 9, 2016
    Argentina
    i'm using that same flashcart with that same app (wood r4)

    i was having the same problem but when i put the flashcart with some cardboard like this video worked just fine



    [​IMG]

    ^^make sure the 3ds recognizes the cartridge like this before run apache thunder's wood r4 app
     
    XXII, Zidapi and b1uens0w like this.
  16. fenderjaguar

    fenderjaguar GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    252
    46
    Sep 19, 2015
    I have the original R4 working with my N3DS with the launcher I mentioned, as does ApacheThunder. This the SD cards directory:

    http://imgur.com/a/v2vNd

    btw, what kind of microsd card are you using? I think you can only use up to 2GB with these, just saying....
     
    Last edited by fenderjaguar, Apr 25, 2017
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  17. b1uens0w
    OP

    b1uens0w Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2017
    United States
    ^LMAO THIS ACTUALLY WORKED WTF!! THANKS SO MUCH!
     
  18. XXII

    XXII Member

    Newcomer
    23
    4
    Jun 4, 2015
    Belgium
    If it can be useful for someone ...

    I was having the same problem too, with many hours of research online, of tries, formatting SD, multiple r4 .cia launcher and all ... and the cardboard was the solution too, haha.
    It took me multiple tentatives though. At first I was using a piece of paper, no luck. Then a piece of paper folded in 2 or in 3, still no luck. Then I tried something more thick and it finally worked. And each time I eject and replace the cartridge, it is always recognized by the 3DS. You need to find the good one. :-)

    - Old 3dsXL 11.2
    - Luma and A9LH
    - original r4 with Wood (_rpg folder + DS_MENU_dat file)
    - Apache Thunder's .cia launchers (both WoodR4Launcher.rar and R4Launcher_AnyKernel.rar work for my r4)

    Be sure that once you insert your cartridge with the piece of cardboard the linker is recognized like in penchostella's picture.
     
    Last edited by XXII, Apr 26, 2017