Need help with parts for first PC build.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by tajio, Sep 23, 2010.

Sep 23, 2010
  1. tajio
    OP

Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
    Hello tempers,

So for my birthday I'm planning on buying computer parts to build my own custom PC. I'll want to use it for Graphic designing (Photoshop CS5, Illustrator CS5 etc...) and also to watch movies (HD content), listen to music etc... I'll want to multi-task eg; Firefox + Photoshop + MSN + Windows Media + Something.

Problem is my budget is £300 ... [​IMG] I'm 17 and that is what I only have at the moment.

I have a monitor and accessories, just need the actual computer.

The OS I'm planning on using is Windows 7 Professional because I'll be getting a legal copy for free as I'm a student.

I'm hoping for 2gb or 4gb ram as I'm on a £300 budget.

Anyone recommend a cheap site with parts (based in the UK). I was thinking of www.ebuyer.com ...

Thanks

2. Scorpei

Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

Netherlands
    Okay there will be lots of suggestions below here I guess. However what you are describing isn't really multitasking, you won't be doing all those things at once. Also as you are stating no gameing use, you can easily get a nice PC for that money. OH btw, grafics designing, depending on what you will really be doing, you might want to look into a REAL monitor that matches real life colours and such [​IMG].

3. tajio
    OP

Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
    Already have 22" HD moniter [​IMG] . I want to build my own PC but I recently found this >>> LINK Should I get this? Or can I build a better one for less?

EDIT: I might use the computer for, say like, 10 - 15 hours day ... would I need couple of more fans?

4. Scorpei

Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

Netherlands