Need help with cIOS installation

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xditsme, Jun 4, 2009.

Jun 4, 2009
  1. xditsme
    OP

    Newcomer xditsme Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I have successfully installed the HBC on my 4.0 Wii but I want to use the USB loader so I can run backups.
    (My Wii serial begins with LU63)

    When I try to run the Ultimate USB Loader with no cIOS on I obviously get the "cannot find cIOS" error.

    I tried to install the cIOS38 13b from waninkoko the .dol ran off of HBC succesfully but when I tried to install both using WAD and network installation I received an error called "install error ret: -2011"

    What do I need to do to correctly install a cIOS?

    additional info: I used wakinkokos wad manager 1.3 to try to install cios fix but it gave me the same error, -2011.
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    You need to install IOS36-64-v1042.wad, first press - to uninstall it, and then press + to install it.
    exit and load again Wad Manager
    now install the cIOS_fix.wad
    if you have no error, then proceed to use the cIOS36_r10 installer (or the one you are going to use)

    ...! [​IMG]
     
  3. xditsme
    OP

    Newcomer xditsme Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, starting to download IOS36..... and following your instructions.

    Also I'm hearing that rev 10 is currently the most stable and that people shouldn't really deviate outside of that rev, is that true?

    EDIT:

    While uninstalling the IOS I got
    Deleting ticket error ret= -1017
    Deleting ticket contents ret= -1017

    and while installing I got
    install error ret - 1035


    Is this normal? I also got the 2011 error again after restarting wad manager and installing cios fix.
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    pretty much yes, unless you have the usb rockband instruments and are planning on using the game thru the USB loader, wich is ridiculous cause if you have the instruments, it means you have the legit copy [​IMG] but you know how all the people are..!!
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    then I guess you need to do some trick with the DVDx installer that installs an old version of IOS35, and then use the WiiPower's Wad Manager IOS Selectable, select IOS35 to hang off, and then install the cIOS_fix.wad, don't run wich DVDx installer does that, cause I haven't used this kind of fix, but I guess the one on the HackMii installer...!! [​IMG]

    (I'm off to bed BTW) good luck..!
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Anything involving uninstalling an IOS isn't something you should advise someone to ever do. If it can be installed it should be able to be installed over what's already there.

    http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835

    I believe from where you're at download the offline pack thats posted there. Then do steps 1-3, A-B, and 9-10 in the offline section.

    That should be enough to get what you want to work.
     
  7. Nikj14

    Member Nikj14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    im getting the "you are a pirate" message :/ what files to delete with nand clean?

    EDIT: nvm got it to work [​IMG]
     

Share This Page