Need help restoring Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by martin88, Dec 26, 2008.

Dec 26, 2008

Need help restoring Wii by martin88 at 2:58 AM (2,145 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    The console has firmware 3.2U, with starfall set to skip disk updates. It also has homebrew channel installed.

    I used AnyTitleDeleter to delete everything I could (that AnyTitleDeleter allows me to) under the first category, it was a bunch of IOSs that were deleted.

    And then I formatted Wii's memory, so HBC is also gone.

    Now Twilight Princess boots into black screen so I can't use Twilight hack to install HBC. Updating Wii to 3.4U through WiFi doesn't work (the progress bar freezes) so I'm stuck at 3.2U. Can't update from retail game either because starfall is still in effect.

    How do I resolve this? The console has WiiKey installed.
     


  2. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    an auto-boot starfall disk


    i dont think it exists lol
     
  3. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Heres a easy fix for you, first you can do the starfall autoboot like CIJC said or you get the program that patches your games to run off of different IOS's and take the Zelda TP and patch it to run off of IOS30

    I know you still have IOS30 because anytitle deleter will not let you delete the IOS that your system menu is running off of, and system menu 3.2 runs off of IOS30, After you get the zelda up and workiing again i recommend removing the Update blocker patch with starfall, and sticking in a few of your wii titles like Mario Kart or SSB and letting them update so that your wii can replace all of its IOS's

    The Program i'm talking about is IOS Patcher you can download it here
    Code:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LOZIAUKH
    Take the zelda Tp ISO and Patch it to run off of IOS30 it should now boot, and you can know run the tp hack, and Run Starfall to remove the patch

    Also to explains things alittle better, the reason your getting the black screen is because, certain wii titles requires different IOS's to run, and when you remove these, the game will ask for a update to put back the IOS so it can run, But when you install starfall and remove the Option to Update, the game will not run just giving you a black screen. Well hope you get it fix,
     
  4. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply.

    How do I create a starfall auto-boot disk?

    What program do I use to patch twilight princess's ISO for it to use IOS30?
     
  5. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    dont know about the Starfall autoboot, but the program to patch your zelda game i left a download link in my post above,

    I edited my post
     
  6. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    forget the auto-boot starfall disk...

    the other idea is better.

    Download waninkoko's ios patcher.


    'Aquire' a twilight princess .iso


    drag and drop the .iso ontop of the ios patcher program

    it should open up a box... type in the number 30. and press enter.

    press any key.


    burn the .iso like any other .iso.



    it will boot now, instead of black screen.


    use twilight hack to sort out your wii!
     
  7. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    So basically I'll do:
    1. Patch Twilight Princess to use IOS30 (The only IOS still left on my console)
    2. Use Twilight Hack to install HBC
    3. Run Starfall through HBC and disable the skip-update feature
    4. Run SSB and update to 3.3

    So once I've done the above I should downgrade back to 3.2?
     
  8. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah [​IMG] then re-install starfall xD
     
  9. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    well SSB contains firmeware 3.1 but sense your wii is on 3.2, your wii will stay on 3.2 the only thing it will update is your IOS's sense you removed them but yes do all of that and you should be fine Your Wii will stay on 3.2 after updating
     
  10. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what if it doesn't update his wii.... because it thinks the ios's are there because his system displays 3.2...

    and the update is only 3.1...
     
  11. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    it will work, I removed all my IOS's before, Stupidly and when you remove your IOS's it makes all your older games ask for updates, that contain them, Mario Kart or SSB is a good choice and it will work they both contain 3.1, which will be most of the IOS's you'll need, but after updating with SSB or Mario Kart, if you still have problems running alot of your VC Wads i recommend sticking in different wii games and see if they also ask for a update and let them. I've myself been in this Boat before, and it took a few wii game updates to straighten it out. Expect i didn't have starfall installed blocking updates, Its a new one for me. But i believe the method i gave you will work.
     
  12. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cool, another happy gba-temper [​IMG]
     
  13. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Are there any other games beside SSB and Mario Kart that I should try and let it update?
     
  14. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    guitar hero world tour
     
  15. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    well SSB or Mario kart, should be enough if you still experience problems with your VC Games like i did, i used wii sports, which fixed the problem, with the VC Games but you may not have the same problem,

    But first lets see if we can get the Zelda IOS30 patched to work first.
     
  16. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah, if zelda dont work, you are pretty screwed there.... unless you wait for a new game to included the 3.2 update
     
  17. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried the IOS30-patched Twilight, and as soon as the disk is put in, the screen shows the message telling me error occured and to eject the disk then turn the Wii off.

    So maybe the IOS I have left is not IOS30.

    The following might help:
    -SSB still works
    -(Before the Wii is formatted) The IOS not deleted is the one being used by HBC , as AnyTitleDeleter told me
     
  18. puffdank

    Newcomer puffdank Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Wait so you can still boot into HBC?
     
  19. martin88
    OP

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    No, I formatted the Wii so everything is gone.
     
  20. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    modifiy a SSBB iso main.dol to boot a hbc installer


    DONE
     

Share This Page