My laptop crashed (help please)

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by RemixDeluxe, Apr 7, 2012.

Apr 7, 2012
  1. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,311
    Country:
    United States
    So I dropped my laptop on my floor, not on purpose but it was resting on a desk but it was not securely on the desk and it took a 2-3 foot drop to the floor. Whenever I try logging on to my account on my laptop I get a blackscreen with only the mouse icon in view. After 5 mins I shut it off and I successfully go into safe mode with networking where I am now typing up this disaster.

    Is it possible at this point to backup my computer?
     
  2. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, backup all your stuff trough safe mode to a USB Drive or a external harddrive. and then do a fresh format and reinstall Windows. that would be the best way I guess
     
  3. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,311
    Country:
    United States
    When I am in safe mode am I able to use programs like "backup and restore" because it's not allowing me to do so. Could I possibly use a SATA cable and connect my HDD to an external HDD using another laptop as a medium?
     
  4. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    can't you just use copy from windows itself? maybe your method could work. a easier way is to download a livecd to backup your stuff. I use Ubuntu for that you can download it for free. then just burn it and boot from it
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's times like these that I always have an external drive or two ready to use, one of which is simply an external HDD dock for quick backups. It works both ways - either plug an external drive in and copy everything over in Windows safe mode, or take the laptop drive out and use an external drive/dock to plug it into another laptop/computer and copy it over that way.

    The fact that you're able to enter safe mode at all implies that there's no serious damage to your computer, and for you to get as far as seeing the mouse means that you're only having trouble loading explorer.exe. There are ways to fix that, although I prefer just reinstalling Windows from scratch (every year or so) to give your laptop a fresh start. Don't forget that Vista/7 can reinstall Windows without deleting your old files - it'll just move them to a Windows.old folder.
     
  6. Click This

    Member Click This Surgite!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    New York, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Tbh it sounds like your hard drive was damaged from the fall. Windows is now trying to access bad sectors while it's booting, and therefore freezes up when it can't it properly. Try using CHKDSK to see if your hard drive is damaged.
    At this point because you can only use safe-mode, programs like Acronis True Image(Basically creates a ROM of your hard drive which can be "unzipped" to another blank hard drive) likely won't work(But you can try).
    If Acronis won't work, I'm afraid you'll have to copy-paste your data to an external drive, and reinstall programs when you get a new disc drive/format.
     
  7. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    It probably had a hard shutdown falling = corruption. Some of the dell laptops we have at my work come with free fall sensors that would minimize damage done from falling.
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought it was the HDDs, not laptops themselves that had free fall sensors.
     
    2 people like this.
  9. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I know the HDD as mechanisms to lock the headers (or something like that) but I am unsure if they are equipped with an actual accelerometer or if that's built into the laptop which notifies windows to use the locking mechanisms of the HDD.

    Not exactly sure
     
  10. Click This

    Member Click This Surgite!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    New York, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Most higher end computers have free-fall sensors. I remember the iBooks had them, and so does my Thinkpad.
    Doesn't look like your laptop had that, though.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page