Hacking My backup launcher not working any more?

Luketheman5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
61
Country
My backup launcher was working fine, I use Gamma 0.3 and I was running Wii 4.2E.
I updated my Wii again and it remained at 4.2E, I still have HBC and all the channels installed, but when I launch the backup channel, my TV displays a resolution and then nothing. This works for all games, even proper retail ones. Does anyone know how to fix this at all? Anything I need to install?
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
When you updated your wii again nintendo updated reinstalled the stub ios files used by the backup loaders.

You will need to restore the trucha bug into ios36 then delete the stub ios files and then reinstall the cios files again.

Check out xzxeros guide from the top of the board and read the modify 4.2 section.
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
Yeah follow that and then you will need to delete the stub ios files of 222,223,249 and 250

After deleting those reinstall them using your preferred method.

It's all on that site you linked
smile.gif
 

Luketheman5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
61
Country
Awesome thanks heaps! I got it all set up and on the first step it says
"Could not open file: sd/IOS15-64-v523.wad
Could not open file: sd/IOS15-64-v523.wad.out.wad
Error reading IOS into memory
Downgrade failed"

Any idea how to fix that :S
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
I think it means those files where not found on the root of your sd card.

In TBR did you select LOAD FROM SD?

If you did and the files it needs are not on the sd card then that's probably the cause of the errors your getting.You can change it so it downloads the files needed from nintendo to continue the process.

When it says LOAD FROM SD use your d-pad and change it so it downloads the files from nintendo.This will require you to have wifi on your wii.

If you don't have wifi available then do the following instead.


Go to the wii hacking forum and look at the top of the board for a guide by xzxero.Inside that thread you will find an email address just send a blank email to that address and it will send you a link to download all the files you will need in order to do what you need to do.
 

Luketheman5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
61
Country
Oops my bad I was loading it from SD.

I'm trying the download from NUS but whenever I try to do it a second time it just crashes on me during the "loading contents" and gives me a huge code dump saying Exception (DSI) occured! this just isn't my day
frown.gif
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
Just get the files from xzxeros guide and then you can do it 100% offline.

I used his method on probably a dozen wiis without any issues.
 

Luketheman5

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
61
Country
Ok thanks I did that, I've done everything 100% right so far, except for this "Run DOP-IOS.If it asks what cIOS to use, choose 36. On the next screen, go right (sometimes left) till you see IOS70. Choose yes for every option and let it install. Reboot your wii."

it can't find the files on the SD card again, what am I supposed to copy over?


Edit: Nevermind, Wifi'd it. Thanks for everything man!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free on Temp, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Now for someone to hack that thing and make pixel pr0n
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It maybe possible.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Will be perfect for onlyfans links
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Gamers: I bet your 4k oled ain't a jump rop
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    No, but I can take my OLED jump rope for a 4k
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a race.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol