My Acekard 2i has stopped functioning correctly.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DTGS, May 15, 2010.

May 15, 2010
  1. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    I checked the help thing to check the ID thing and it's literally states it's HW:81 so it's not fake. (I think)

    It's worked perfectly when I first got it... the 4 months or so I've had it, but now it's acting like crap. Does anyone know what I should do? Should I just get a new one or what?
     
  2. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Acting like crap? what does this mean?

    Back-up you microSd card and format you microSD card with the panasonic SDformatter.
     
  3. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    I've formatted it twice... still nothing. Should I use that panasonic formatter? Does it make a difference from the Windows formatting thing?
     
  4. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, it is the best to use.
     
  5. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    I had one AK2i that failed just like that.
    Acekard products have a one year warranty.
    Contact your seller for a replacement unit.
    If that doesn't work out, you can contact Acekard directlly.

    However, with the lower prices now common, (and with the opportunity to support this site through ShopTamp) I would consider simply purchasing a new one and be done with it.

    A reputable dealer will honor the one year warranty, and this is a good opportity to see how well the service and support side of your shop actually handles a claim.

    Whipple
     
  6. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    maybe it's a contact issue?
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you mean it doesn't appear in the DS's menu?

    If so it's likely to be a contact issue, follow this guide
     
  8. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    My seller was.. realhotdeals? Something like that. I'll probably buy a new acekard since it's 14 dollars on the Tempshop. And I'll check out that guide.
     
  9. coattails

    Member coattails GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Stick a piece of thin cardboard/thick paper between the acekard sticker and the DS when you put it in and your issues should go away.
     
  10. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Nothing. Did the formatting, the guide, and the paper inbetween the cart and ds... nothing. I'll just buy a new one. It works... just it takes forever to get it, and most likely freeze.
     
  11. Mages4ever

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    To be honest, after reading what's been posted and stuff, you didn't really explain what, "Acting like crap" means.
     
  12. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, good way to not actually receive any worthwhile assistance.
    I know one thing, you'd hate to be his doctor [​IMG]
     
  13. spark1223

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    God I am sick of typing this!! The paper or cardboard goes under the PCB! Not Between the DS and the card! That won't work!! This is what you have to do:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    Just did that. Nope didn't work either.
     
  15. spark1223

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    You can't just give up if it doesn't work the first time, use thicker paper.
     
  16. DTGS
    OP

    Newcomer DTGS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Varrock
    Country:
    United States
    How do I get out the paper that's inside then?
     
  17. spark1223

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    You can use you finger nail or just leave in. If you cannot get it out just put more in. Thats what'd id do. I just wouldn't give up if it didn't work the first time. Once I got credit card under there and that didn't work, I'd say buy a new one or look elsewhere for the area of the issue. but these threads with this white screen stuff is rather new, I'd try new micro sds, putting new firmware on it. Then my final option would be trying to unbrick. but i have 2 acekards. Then if all that didn't work, I'd research it until I got sick of it then ask on the boards and if that didn't pull through, I'd buy a new one.
     

Share This Page