Multitouch photoviewer v2.0

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 17, 2009.

Jul 17, 2009
  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] Multitouch photoviewer v2.0
    Update
    [​IMG]

    Multitouch Photoviewer is an image display application for the NDS made with PALib. For more information on the project please see the change log below.



    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] PALib Post
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    This is in the wrong news section isn't it?
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    This is actually pretty interesting, I've gotta admit. Sure it requires you to use 256x192 24-bit bitmaps (not 16-bit like he says in the post), and yeah the zooming is kinda screwed up at the moment, but it's a cool effect nonetheless. Makes me want to go check out that multi-touch library again since I never did test out any applications made with it back when it was released.
     
  4. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hm...interesting. It doesn't work on my DSi though. Can't say I'm too surprised.
     
  5. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup doesn't work on the DSi
    sadly enough the DSi doesn't support pressure anymore [​IMG].
    but it ONLY works with 2 stylii, not with your fingers!
    (and it is not made with the multitouch library, but using my own technique. I found out that if the distance between two stylii increases, the pressure increases too
     
  6. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, I noticed that the DSi's screen had less resistance than the DS's screen...never knew there was any pressure sensitivity like that.
     
  7. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm sure some commercial roms use it, none that i know of, but the homebrew colors uses it.

    if you are interested in the code, give this a read: http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=14...hlight=pressure

    -another world
     
  8. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so you think that code should work on the DSi?
    that would be nice [​IMG]
    btw: I thought colors didn't work on the DSi too...
     
  9. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i don't know, but what i just read says the dsi doesn't have the pressure sensitive touch screen and the dsphat/dslite does.

    -another world
     
  10. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup that's why it isn't working at the DSi
     
  11. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    colors is such a "high profile" app now, you can get it for the i-phone. it's like they forgot their homebrew roots. one would think that by now it would be updated to work on the dsi, which appears to lack the pressure sensitive touch screen.

    -another world
     
  12. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah...it looks like Colors works, but when you try to calibrate it, no matter how hard you press it just says zero.
     
  13. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup that is the problem.
    I think it was some kind of undocumented API
    so: sadly enough no DSi support
     
  14. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah well...perhaps something might emerge when a DSi API is reverse engineered. Guess that's probably not gonna happen any time soon, though.
     
  15. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    they've already hacked it using a save game, so I think it'll be soon.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgl24RpaEu8...player_embedded
     
  16. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I've seen that...but it's gonna take some time to go from a simple picture on the screen to a full API that can use all of the DSi's flagship, and perhaps, hidden features.
     
  17. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    sure but it is a begin [​IMG]
     
  18. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, yeah...they should have like, a blog that says what they're doing and stuff, I haven't heard a thing since that video. I want DSi homebrew. [​IMG]
     
  19. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    they do have a blog not much updates but still
    hackmii.com
     
  20. dragontje124

    Newcomer dragontje124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yup I'd already know that one [​IMG]
     

Share This Page