Move channels to SD card

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by mateuscz, Oct 14, 2010.

Oct 14, 2010

Move channels to SD card by mateuscz at 4:33 PM (1,289 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. mateuscz
    OP

    Newcomer mateuscz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi.

    I'd like to know if it's harmful to execute channels from a SD card. I mean, when I play a VC game, for example, from the SD, it's copied again to nand and after it's deleted. After repeating this process a lot, it can be harmful to the nand?
     
  2. mikefor20

    Member mikefor20 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Nands can wear out over time. Nintendo's SD Menu could definately shorten your nands life with all the writing/erasing. Use SNEEK
     
  3. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    The console will be obsolete for many years before you wear out the NAND.
     
  4. mateuscz
    OP

    Newcomer mateuscz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,351
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i wouldn't recommend doing it store the chans/ww on an sd card your not using yes but don't run them from it. i've got like 10 bad blocks from doing this never had bad blocks b4 until i started running chans from sd!
     
  6. mateuscz
    OP

    Newcomer mateuscz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thank you very much for the advice. [​IMG]
     
  7. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,291
    Country:
    Chile
     
  8. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba

    you are listening to the wrong advices, listen to tuedj and OriginalHamster instead

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Talk:Hardware/NAND

    also, "bad blocks", as Bootmi detects them, are marked during the factory tests, I don't think the number will increase with time (NAND software won't even try to access them, this is the reason they were marked by the manufacturer), see BootMii FAQ

    Think twice, if this was harmful to your Wii, the feature would not have been implemented by Nintendo, they are not that stupid
     
  9. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    i have a 4.2U wii and i tried installing a channel to the sd card. are the sd channels not supposed to show up in system menu?
     
  10. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    Why hijack a topic?

    Anyway, no they are run from the SD Card window on the bottom of your system menu screen.

    Wynd
     
  11. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    i would have thought the posters discussing the merits of nand flash memory are the ones hijacking the thread and my question that is related to channels running on an sd card was on topic, but it seems im wrong. anyways thanks.
     
  12. mateuscz
    OP

    Newcomer mateuscz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    So, I can move the channels to the SD without fear of screwing up my nand, right?
    Thank you all very much for the attention. [​IMG]
     
  13. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    What the fuck are you talking about, did you even read the question he asked?
     

Share This Page