MoonShell v2 for AK2i

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by deesto, Aug 29, 2009.

Aug 29, 2009

MoonShell v2 for AK2i by deesto at 4:32 AM (1,955 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. deesto
    OP

    Newcomer deesto Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone got this working with an Acekard ak2i for DSi? For me, it halts on load with an error, even after renaming files/folders as described above, and even after DLDI patching (using acek.dldi patch).

    I'd like to try v2, since the v1 version on the Acekard site is next to horrible ... are there any alternative apps for media playback on this card?
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, what's the error it comes up with ? - that might help us figure out what's wrong

    Also what 'firmware' are you using (Ak2i own or AKAIO) ?

    You mention you used 'acek.dldi' to patch it - I think that's the wrong one

    Try using the 'ak2_sd.dldi' file that's in the '__AK' folder (if you are using 'AK2i' firmware)
    If you are using AKAIO DON'T use the one in the '__AIO' folder - download the AK2i firmware & use that version instead - there's seem to be a difference between the two versions

    Also try deleting the file 'logbuf.txt' from '/moonshl2/' folder - Don't ask me why. if you don't Moonshell locks up for some reason
     
  3. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    my moonshell 2 work on my ak2i without any pacthing needed.
    simply copy moonshl2 in root folder. and moonshl2.nds anyhwere you want

    btw, i use akaio
     
  4. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    okay i have a problem, my moonshell won't start, when i pressed it, it says memory card size not supported (4 gig), or it says file cluster is too smal , and why is that?
     
  5. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Run a backup and reformat the card. Reload the backup, and then try to run "DirectBoot" instead. It's a known issue on some acekards that won't accept the normal boot method.
     
  6. deesto
    OP

    Newcomer deesto Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks CannonFoddr: I think the combo of patching with the ak2_sd.dldi (using AK2i firmware) and removing the log file helped ... I had also renamed the moonshl2/ folder to moonshl/ and that was a problem as well.

    A bit OT, but is there a comparison between Ak2i and AKAIO firmware for this cart? Which is better?
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To tell the truth I have no idea what's better (My main card is a DSTTi - but soon upgrading to a M3i Zero)
    I believe that AKAIO is considered 'better' for compatibility than the Ak2i firmware - especially in the SAV department (I've read a few threads saying that AK2i corrupts SAV files), other than that I've got no idea - sorry
     
  8. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia

Share This Page