Moonshell v2.03 Stable

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 15, 2009.

Jul 15, 2009

Moonshell v2.03 Stable by Another World at 3:19 AM (3,609 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] Moonshell v2.03 Stable
    Update
    [​IMG]

    Moonshell has been updated but no change log has been released. When one is released this post will be updated. It was mentioned to me that the default skin has changed, not for the better, and that there might be possible updates to .NSF playback.



    Thanks to Pendor via IRC for the news!​

    [​IMG] Download (41.72 MB)
    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. Virgil

    Newcomer Virgil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    Woah, first post....

    Anyways, I'll take a quick jab at it and see how is it; i'll have to back up my current edits to my original MS2, but since it is an update, I would guess it would be for the better anyways.

    EDIT: Actually, taking a quick look at the photos, you can tell how they meant by "for the worse"; it seems like the coloring of it is a bit messed up, but just change it if you don't like the skin, I guess.
     
  3. portezbie

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I just dled the newest kernel for my ezflash V plus so I thought I would also go and try out the new moonshell but when I try to run moonshell I get a fatal disk error about the file size and the directory file size not matching up or something like that, anyone know what I am doing wrong?
     
  4. Tomdev

    Newcomer Tomdev Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    got that problem too, you've to boot directboot.nds or something similair, not the 64kb file [​IMG]
     
  5. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    I also have a EZ-Flash Vi and having problems getting past that FRIGGIN memory check at the start.
    It ALWAYS stops at about 50%-70%.
    When it finally does load there is an option to skip the check.

    Does anyone know how to skip the check from the start? If it was skipped a lot of us could actually see how crap it really is.

    v202 didnt work for me. I did get into it but nothing worked. No movies, no pictures, no music, nothing so its crap to me.

    I really hope they fixed it in this version.
     
  6. f3ar000

    Member f3ar000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    United States
    the disk check thingee can be fixed if you do an error fix scan which can take a while... then you go into options and disable the scan at boot box
     
  7. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    How about just editing a file and skip the disk check completely?

    There has to be a setup file and an option to disable the disk check somewhere?

    What about someone uploading thier setup file thats already got the disk check skipped and we will use that one.
     
  8. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Actually, he says on the source page that he accidentally packed the wrong skin in T_T
     
  9. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    How do you do the error fix scan? All it does is check then lock up for me.
     
  10. adriande2

    Member adriande2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    You can try putting the card into the computer, and if you have a scan and fix option that pops up, use that.
    If you do not have this option on your computer, try moving all files on to your computer then back on you MicroSD card.
    It doesn't have to do with what flashcard you are using, it has to do with memory errors on the card (Such as corrupted files, misplaced sectors ect.).
     
  11. portezbie

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    So I tried backing up my card and formatting the card and then moving everything back and then it kinda worked but when I tried to go into my media folder through moonshell it froze. Also once I tried deleting one game off my cart it started getting the disk check error again at the beginning. Also if you get moonshell to boot properly it has an option to turn off the disk check but that didnt seem to do anything.
     
  12. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I still use Moonshell 1.71. Its so good it does everything Moonshell 2 does. It just looks ugly but who cares. Why you Moonshell 2 it wastes so much space on your memory card.
     
  13. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    incorrect.

    it has more user controlled options but lacks many of the built in tools/apps. however, not everyone needs them. as for dpg playback, moonshell 2+ uses a different dpg standard. the vids are clearer, cleaner, and use less dithering to achieve their goal. the dpg encoding tools have also been upgraded specifically for use on moonshell 2+. i've run tests and the same vid, from the same source, encoded the same way, 1 using the old tool and 1 using batchdpg (also an old standard), and 1 using the new tool, all have varying results. the old tool(s) looked best on the old moonshell, which is understandable, but on the new moonshell vids had blocky areas where stuff was previously dithered. using the new tool vids looked close to 50% better. spots of fast movement that were previously dithered are now fixed, blotchy solid colors were clear and also looked less dithered. it becomes harder to see the dithering in the new moonshell.

    let us not forget all of the bug fixes which have been added into moonshell 2, fixes which some requested over a year ago and were never added into 1.71.

    the next time you make comments like "it does everything moonshell 2 does," i would appreciate it if you actually did some research on your own. you just look the fool otherwise.

    moonshell 2.03 is 54.6MB
    moonshell 1.71 is 6.22MB

    yes moonshell 2 takes up more space, but how does that really matter when sdhc cards currently go up to 16gb? even if you were using a 2gb msd, if you were serious about multimedia on your nds when you were on trips would you not carry more than one msd? with flash kits $10 and up, and msd cards $5 and up, $15 is a small investment to have a second kit dedicated just for a few dpg shows and some mp3s.

    although what i've said is subject to opinion, it is my way of looking at the situation and the complaint of old vs new in regards to file size.

    -another world
     
  14. portezbie

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've kinda gotten it working now but not sure what I did. It seems to mostly work fine now and does mind if I add or remove files but it still freezes if I try and put all my media in one folder. Also it does not seem to like opening jpg or bmp files. Also the image pack viewer works, but it crashes if I try to exit back to moonshell. Weird, guess they still need to work out alot more bugs, or is it just me?
     
  15. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Hi i have strange problem with that moonshell on my acekard rpg. I launched it on nand flash all works well untill I launch a mp3 then it suddenly gets choppy, but strangest thing is that when I click pause and play the choppiness magically dissapear and mp3 plays normally. Any ideas what is causing that kind of problem and how to fix it ?
     
  16. EEragon

    Newcomer EEragon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's working like a charm on SCDS!!!

    Thanks Moonlight!
     
  17. CodeEight

    Newcomer CodeEight Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    So far the changes ive seen in Moonshell 2.03 vs moonshell 2.02

    1) smoother scrolling while browser through files
    2) When you play a video the bottom screen fades away and turns black which makes it less irritating
    3) moonshell directboot file is way smaller compared to the old one. (from 750kb+ to 200kb)
    4) Probably some other Minor things that are fixed but not found yet!
     
  18. GenesisX

    Member GenesisX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    a vagina :)
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys.. for those of you who are having problems.. the moonshell 2.03 directory(moonshell2 folder) doesnt contain everything that moonshell 2.02 has. what i did was just took everything in moonshell 2.03(folder) and put those in the previous folder and works like a charm [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  19. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    I've done that. I moved everything to the PC, formatted the card with SD Formatter, put everything back on and it still gives a memory error in the ezflash folder so there is no way I can load it up. Thats why I'm asking for a memory skip from the start.

    It comes down to moonshells disk check. its faulty. Windows disk check says everything is good. even after a format it still wont pass the check.
     
  20. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried deleting /moonshl2/logbuf.txt?
     

Share This Page