Moonshell 2 Exit to firmware

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Black ace, Mar 21, 2010.

Mar 21, 2010

Moonshell 2 Exit to firmware by Black ace at 6:30 PM (4,514 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using the moonshell 2-ysmenu combo and when i press start and do exit to firmware it brings me back to moonshell.
    Then I took the TTMENU.DAT(DSTT one not moonshell renamed) to ttio.nds and put it in to the moonshl2/resetmse and replaced it with the one which was already there but when I tried doing exit to firmware again it bought up 2 white screens.
    Can someone help

    Using DSTT cart
     


  2. bitonio6

    Member bitonio6 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    in the 2.09 pack from "linfoxdomain.com" you can find a good ttio.nds
     
  3. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using 2.05.Don't want to use 2.05< as they have more complicated of putting games and cheats on
     
  4. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    go install 2.09 + Normmatt's FIX

    and also dont forgot to place nds.*.nds (where * is your ysmenu loader) as is it will be used when you select exit to firmware.
     
  5. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wasn't normattsfix meant to be for the acekard
     
  6. retrogamefan

    Member retrogamefan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    Antarctica
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Nope... Normmatt's file is a cracked overlay.dll that you put into the \moonshl2\internal\ folder
    The only complicated part is, instead of having nds.loadername.nds, you have two copies of THAT file renamed to _hn.HugeNDSLoader.nds and _vh.VeryHugeNDSLoader.nds
     
  8. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what i needed was when I do exit to firmware,I want it to go to the DSTT GUI
    Moonshell 2 was set to autoboot and was renamed to TTMENU.DAT
     
  9. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    you mean this right?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrSlYcJiRbY

    if yes. then do what i said earlier. And yeah, also it wont work if you use the moonshell2 comercial rom booting guide found on hombrew section. You wont able to boot commercial roms in DSTT menu (it freeze as soon as you select a rom)

    but when i use akari212's moonshell2 as main os guide. wow.. it works sweet.
     
  10. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks
     
  11. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone help me I thought I did i right but it didn't work.I installed moonshell 2.09 using akari212's guide but It just loads up moonshell again.
     
  12. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry for triple posting but what do you meanby nds.*.nds?
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    "*" is a wildcard, it can mean any number of any letters/numbers/symbols.

    For example, Xenon++'s file is nds.YSLoader.nds, and linoul's is nds.YSloaderForMS2.nds
    You could call it anything you want, like nds.THISISANAME.nds and it would work, it just needs the proper prefix (nds.) and extension (.nds).

    You could also use that for other files, for example, gb.Lameboy.nds for associating with .gb files.
     
  14. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So what does it mean when he said "as is it will be used when you select exit to firmware"?
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    To be honest, I'm not sure...

    I have a real R4 with Moonshell 2.09 as firmware with YSMenu (DSTT1.17a12) and Xenon++'s YSLaunch.
    My R4TF.NDS\Exit to Firmware option is DSOrganize, and it loads directly without needing to go through YSLaunch.

    Maybe because it's a smaller file?
     
  16. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I think its more because ysmenu has the ability to load the firmware. It's the same with the R4 firmware. Moonshell2 just doesn't seem to be able to load it on its own.
     
  17. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Moonshell can load homebrew apps on it's own... under a certain size.
    I tested Bunjalloo, dsLibris, DSOrganize and a few others and they all ran through Moonshell2.
    To make sure it was Moonshell2 running it, I renamed YSMenu.nds, the file that YSLaunch uses to load ROMs, so that Commercial ROM loading was disabled, and all the homebrew I mentioned above worked.

    Now to contrast this... I tried to load Super Smash Bros. Clash, a 5MB homebrew.
    That kicked in the YSLaunch loader and failed to load because it could not find YSMenu.nds


    Mis-read what you said... lol.
    And yeah, I wish I knew why (or even better: how to!) R4's firmware won't load as an NDS file.
    The R4li Firmware -CAN- run, if you decrypt it.
     
  18. Black ace
    OP

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So how do you get it to load back to the dstt gui when doing exit to firmware
     
  19. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    IMO if you're using linoul or Xenon++'s YSLoader for Moonshell, the only real solution to get to the DSTT menu is to use Xenon++'s YSBoot, since if you use YSMenu.nds to load YSMenu, it will autoboot the ROM you had selected last.
    You should be able to use that as the replacement R4TF.nds file, but it's kind of more simple to put it into the Moonshl2\Launch folder.
     
  20. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    @Black ace

    sorry didnt reply on ur PM.. busy you know

    ..

    - anyway.. just follow the akari212's MS2 2.08-2.09 install guide for DSTT/i carts (here)

    after that the installation.. and you verified that it can load normally and launch commercial roms, then do this:

    - go to "moonshl2/resetmse"
    - copy the TTMENU.DAT on that folder
    - delete the existing ttio.nds there
    - rename the TTMENU.DAT to TTIO.NDS
    - after that go back one folder and go to extlink folder
    - copy your favorite nds loader there... if you follow akari212's guide.. you can use the YSLAUNCHER on her links. then copy the "nds.YSloaderForMS2.nds" there

    after that then its done.. you can now boot DSTT firmware with ease. (without hangups on DSTT menu)
    because no matter what i tried.. i followed the guide found on homebrew section. On DSTT menu it just hangs up when i choose a ROM... wtf?, but oh well i tried akari212's guide .. and it works fine.
     

Share This Page