Hacking Modding Related 'Noob' Questions

execuperculite

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey so, how's it going?

I'm having a few issues, obviously, and I'm gonna cut to the chase. Plus I want to cool off some ideas running through my head before I invest too much time into the thought, and end up frustrated that it can't be done.

I'm new to this. So please be kind :)
I've had my console for quite some time.
Falcon (if that means anything here).
Kernel 17502
Philips-LiteOn DG-16D2S

How do I go about the old 'jailbreak' (for want of a better term) with a system like this?

I'm under the impression there is 0 possibility for a 100% 'soft' mod.

I know I can't JTAG (unless I skipped something) and am aware I will probably have to purchase some hardware; what is this hardware, where can I buy it, and what does it do? I did look a little into hardware but I'll wait to see what you guys say. At this stage my notes point towards me needing an R-JTAG, is this correct?

I've heard of flashing the optical drive, does this require anything additional such as an RGH or JTAG (sake of example) or is it a standalone mod? I don't need flashing itself explained, just whether the Xbox uses this by itself or requires a little extra encouragement.

Now, my research into upgrading and downgrading has shown me the depressing fact that downgrading simply is just not a thing that can be done. I'm not too fussed, if it can't be done it can't be done, that's fine, but why?

However, I'm also impelled to ask if one were to flash their optical drive, could that then be used to run unsigned code designed to patch the current kernel or trick the system into 'updating' to a previous version? Whether the technology exists or is currently available or not, I have potentially not looked into far enough, I admit this.