Modded Wii with no drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by OhYa, Jan 31, 2013.

Jan 31, 2013

Modded Wii with no drive by OhYa at 3:47 AM (1,053 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. OhYa
    OP

    Newcomer OhYa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I recently acquired a wii with No top shell & No dvd drive, as in the dvd drive cable is just chillin there with nothing to plug into...
    (Sorry, but you know I had to explain it like that or people would ask whats wrong with the drive...)

    Anyways, So I used flaks & updated it to 4.1u & modded it
    The mod went fine
    I tried using both cfg & GX USB loaders and in both cases I get eject the game & shut down your wii errors on every game I have tried to load off the USB stick
    I tried FAT32 as well as WBFS
    I tried a small game; gravit
    And larger games, Rock Band, Guitar hero (Both the first versions)

    I tried updating the mod & still get the same errors
    I tried a different USB stick and again, same errors

    Does the Wii need the DVD drive in order to work even tho its not technically using it?
     
  2. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately ATM, a wii needs to have a dvd drive to load wii disc games, wii channels, wiiware/vc. I would think that someone could fix that with an ios patch, but that has not been done so perhaps not. Replace the dvd drive and your issue should be resolved.
     
    OhYa likes this.
  3. OhYa
    OP

    Newcomer OhYa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you
    I will try putting a bad drive in, I think I have one around somewhere :)
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As long as the control board of the drive works it should be fine. The drive doesn't need to be able to read discs etc.

    If that doesn't work a free option is to use sneek/uneek/neek2o/deluxe etc as they emulate the drive board/DI.
     
  5. ayrek

    Member ayrek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I have a working Wii with no drive; it's not too difficult to remove the control board from the drive and put it back in, and there's a guide on the forums around here somewhere for doing it. Plus, the extra room in the case means you can, say, install an internal hard drive, which is awesome.
     
  6. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ayrek, I looked quickly and found THIS, it should help. However imho you might want to emulate the DI to save needing the control board, because they are hard to get alone without paying for a whole drive iirc. (I never checked, they will be available somewhere). Having the control board is best, DI emu is cheapest.
     
  7. ayrek

    Member ayrek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    That's actually the exact guide that I used to mod mine :)
    Since my Wii drive died, I didn't see any reason to keep the drive, and I remembered seeing that thread from a long time ago and had thought "Wow, I'd love to do that, if I didn't have to lose my disc drive!"
     

Share This Page