Missing blocks

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by luisfhb, May 12, 2011.

May 12, 2011

Missing blocks by luisfhb at 5:54 AM (1,074 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. luisfhb
    OP

    Newcomer luisfhb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Brazil
    It happens that I cannot play any SD channels anymore because the wii say that there's no free blocks needed to start that channel. I saw that my free blocks were disappearing

    It shows only 19 blocks free but I don't have much things installed to the wii memory, just the default channels, internet channel, HBC...

    Something is stealing blocks from the memory, some hidden data...

    How can I figure out what's going on? Is there any homebrew software that writes hidden data to the memory? (Homebrew data used to appear in the system memory as "Unknown data" or "Corrupted data" or something like this)

    THanks!
     
  2. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Did you delete the "Wii+Internet" Video? That thing takes 1200 blocks on its own. Also delete "SD Card Menu Data" in the Channels section of Data Management if you have it.

    Homebrew doesn't cause this (at least not that I've seen). A friend of mine had this happen to him, but I don't know how he fixed it. He may have formatted his wii (not a good idea, since it can cause strange behavior and bricks)...

    Custom channels used to show up as "???" because the channel didn't have banner information. They're nothing to worry about.
     
  3. luisfhb
    OP

    Newcomer luisfhb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Brazil
    umm... but the thing is that I have nothing to delete from the data management, I'm about to delete the news and weather channel, but that would free just little of blocks.

    I have many savegames but they do not seem to take that much of space.
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    dump the nand with bootmii and then open it in nandExtract. it will let you see the size of all the files. if you dont see where the blocks are being used up, you can run nandBinCheck on it and see if it finds any lost clusters.

    neither of these will do anything to actually fix it, but at least you will know more information about it and can proceed from there.
     
  5. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    If im not mistaken the default nintendo channel (news, weather ect.) don't use up any of your nand memory. They have their own reserved memory on the nand that they use, So even if you delete them you won't gain any blocks
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Actually they use the regular memory.

    @OP: Take a look through your save games before you assume there is something wrong with your Wii. While most game saves only take up 1 or 2 blocks, some are huge. Black Ops and SSBB are two that come to mind. Any DLC from music games are other examples. Saves from most of the downloadable channels (CheckMiiOut, Internet Channel, etc.) also take up a lot of room.
     
  7. luisfhb
    OP

    Newcomer luisfhb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Brazil
    thank you guys! but now im 300km away from my wii... ima check these things monday
     

Share This Page