Minimum video card thet runs black ops

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by atafa, Aug 23, 2011.

Aug 23, 2011
  1. atafa
    OP

    Newcomer atafa Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1st I would like to say I'm new to the forums and I don't know if this is in the right forum/place whatever it's called.
    Basically my video card is crap. It is a GeForce 6150SE nForce 430.
    And from what I have heard, it is an old video card and it was only good for its time.
    I want to get a video card that can run Call of Duty: Black Ops, because I plan on playing that and a few other call of duty games from the franchise.
    I just want to get a video card that is above "Just about run it". I don't mind spending maximum £130

    Thanks guys!

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Hello.
    Welcome to the temp.

    @question-
    A Nvidia 8xxx series can also run COD:BO but at low settings.
    According to your budget a AMD Radeon 6850/70 or Nvidia 460 or 550Ti would be the best.
    But it also depends on your mobo and PSU.
     
  3. atafa
    OP

    Newcomer atafa Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the welcome bro.
    and the recommendations...

    I have some questions:
    1)I'm kind of a rookie when It comes to computers so do you mind telling me what mobo and PSU's are? thanks
    2) Do you know of a website that is a legit trustworthy website to get a video card apart from amazon? (preferably a site from the uk)

    And again thanks.
     
  4. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like your PC's a bit old to even attempt upgrading to run Black Ops if its got a 6xxx Series in it.
    Tell us your CPU and RAM specs as well as what kind of graphics socket you have. To find out run CPUZ (download here http://www.cpuid.com/) To get the graphics card socket click on mainboard and look at the Graphics Interface.
     
  6. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,175
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it's VERY old.

    Try getting a computer with the new AMD A6/A8 processors. If those graphics won't cut it, then you can get a weak AMD graphics card to work in conjunction with the integrated graphics.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think I need to offer any advice on parts, so I'll just offer advice for websites.

    The following are good websites to shop at:
    Overclockers (they have a good range of stuff, but not the best prices)
    eBuyer (simple store, generally good prices)
    Scan (one of the most recommended online shops in the country, although sometimes (rarely) dealing with them can be annoying)
    Dabs (it's pretty much the same as the BT Online store)
    LambdaTek (it doesn't have the best design, but it does have online tools to build a computer system if needed)
    YoYoTech (they typically deal with the best parts, including building custom computers, but tend to have high prices. They're also local to me in London)
     
  8. atafa
    OP

    Newcomer atafa Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    processor: AMD Athlon ? II X2 220 processor 2.80 GHz

    installed memory (ram): 3.00gb (2.75.0 usable)

    64-bit operating system
    Like A BAWS


    eeer model: G5200uk-m


    windows 7 home premium [​IMG]

    edit:
    @Jamstruth
    link is broken
    Edit edit:
    i found another source
     

Share This Page