Daidude

Puzzled
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys!

I'm just posting to ask for some advice and points of view of a laptop that I shall be getting in a week from now. I would say I'm already quite knowledgeable about what kind of laptop I want and the parts I need for it but I'm no expert.
I've been searching for a good laptop in my price range for about half a year now and have decided on the Lenovo Z580 with these specs:
  • Intel core i5 ivy bridge processor ( 3210m)
  • 8 GB ram
  • 1 terabyte hard drive 5400 rpm
  • Nvidia 630m graphics card 1gb
  • Windows 8 home (64-bit)
  • 0.3 Mp webcam 720p?
Link: http://www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/Leno....6_Win8_DVDRW_NVidia_1GB__M81GCUK/version.asp

I've been looking at this laptop for a while and yesterday it dropped in price from £550 to £475 (£550 with £75 cashback) due to xmas so it looks like an even better deal. :)

My price range is around £450 - £550.
I definitely want something with a graphics card and a fast processor preferably i5 or higher.

From my research this set up seems to be better than an A8-A10 APU but I'm not sure.
I would like to use it for light-ish/ medium gaming ( Assasin's creed, Skyrim, Battlefield on low, Minecraft etc.), video editing (possibly), browsing the internet.
I want it powerful since I want it to be about 3 years future-proof.
This'll be my first laptop that I own and I'd appreciate it if anyone here could to rate it, suggest other options or better deals within my price range and tell me what it would be capable of.

Note I'm in the UK and although the laptops seem to be a lot cheaper in the USA I don't really want to import one.

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
About three years is as best as you can get promised for future-proofing a laptop. That looks fine for what you said you want, spec-wise.