MicroSD to Memory Stick adapter

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Ethanx94, Jun 5, 2009.

Jun 5, 2009
  1. Ethanx94
    OP

    Member Ethanx94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    In the parallel dimension
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know of one that works good with the psp? I've heard of photofast but then I've heard that it corrupts if you use the micro sd cards for other things. Basically I want an adapter that has good read speeds, is sdhc compatible, and will let me use the cards for other things. I want to be able to use it in my DSi with it's built in slot and with a DSi flashcard also I want to use it with my Wii for homebrew and my Cybershot camera.
    Hopefully someone here would know of one?
    I saw this guy using one in an instructable but I couldn't find the brand of it.
    Here (step 1)
     


  2. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I use a Kingston brand and it works great (8GB microSD)
     
  3. Ethanx94
    OP

    Member Ethanx94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    In the parallel dimension
    Country:
    United States
    Could you elaborate on that? What adapter did you use?

    If it was the photofast then does it corrupt if you take it out and use it with other things?
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the reason the photofast corrupts is because it's made to use 2 microSD's as 1 MS.
    so it treats 2 memory cards as 1, in a way similar to RAID with hard disks.
    if you take away 1 memory card, you'd only have half the data and a corrupt filesystem.
    though it might work if you only use it with 1 microSD
     
  5. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the reason the photofast corrupts is because it's made to use 2 microSD's as 1 MS.
    so it treats 2 memory cards as 1, in a way similar to RAID with hard disks.
    if you take away 1 memory card, you'd only have half the data and a corrupt filesystem.
    though it might work if you only use it with 1 microSD
     
  6. Ethanx94
    OP

    Member Ethanx94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    In the parallel dimension
    Country:
    United States
    If it could work with only one and not corrupt then that would be perfect. I was only planning to use one at a time anyway. The only thing that might screw up is if the card needs to be formatted to work with the adapter.
     
  7. DrkXShadowZ

    Newcomer DrkXShadowZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, using one microSD is perfectly fine. You'll be able to format it just fine as long as you place it in slot 1. Note: Just don't expect to be able to take out the microSD by itself, put it in another adapter, and try to read it from your computer. That won't work. (At least, from what I've heard.)
     
  8. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    If you get the Photofast CR-5400, be VERY careful on how much stuff you put on it at once.

    The day I got it, all worked well up until I tried to convert some .cso's, to .iso's.

    I used that PSP ISO COMPRESSOR program that's out that converts cso's to iso's, or vice versa, and I had my PSP connected via USB Mode. And with the program I selected my .cso from the My Computer->MemoryStick->N+.cso, and it worked well after taking about 10-15 minutes to convert. So i tried another .cso, and I thought, what the hell? Let's convert so many at one time so I can finally start playing these games. Well, I tried converting Manhunt, GTA:VCS/LCS, Medal of Honor, and Medal Of Honor Heroes 2, ALL together, and I guess it fried my adapter. I checked both MicroSD's that I put in a different adapter, and I can still put things on them, so it has to be the CR-5400. But the weird thing is...when I put both Micros in the CR-5400, and put the CR-5400 into my computer, it can read it just fine and I can still put files on it. But when I put it i my PSP, it asks to format, so I say Yes, and it says format failed. So I looked up that error and it meant something like it's either a fake Memory Stick, or it's corrupted. And I thought, it can't be corrupted if the MicroSD's work fine in other adapters. I ended up just ordering a new one like 2 days ago. [​IMG]

    So yeah, if you're ever going to convert like me, do it one-by-one, or hell, don't even try to convert the files straight from the Memory Stick, put your cso's in a folder on your desktop and make sure to put the output iso in the same folder. I was so mad...Thank God I backed up my files though.
     
  9. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    ^^^ um, yeah, i dont know what you were thinking trying to convert iso>cso on your memory stick. but from prior experience, flash drives and such dont like it when you tell it to do more than one copying task at once, or when you tell it to copy something to your desktop to the device at the same time as copying something in the opposite direction.

    you would probably be able to copy your files from the memory stick to your HD, convert them, and put them back on in less time than it would take to convert them on the stick anyway.

    did you try the micro sd cards in your DS to see if they are still fine? (i assume you have a DS since you are on gbatemp =P )
     
  10. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I have a DS ^^.

    Okay, I just put all the necessary flashcart/firmware files onto each of the 8GB's I was using in the CR-5400, and put the MicroSD's into my EDGE, and it boots up each time perfectly. So I'd say they are still working fine. It's confirmed it's the adapter right? [​IMG]
     
  11. Ethanx94
    OP

    Member Ethanx94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    In the parallel dimension
    Country:
    United States
    Well I really don't need two slots and I want to use it back and forth without formatting so I think I'll try this one.

    -> http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12177
    [​IMG]
    It seemed to have fairly good reviews.
    Thanks for the input everyone.
     
  12. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    looks like it [​IMG] at least you know that its the cheap part that broke. =P you just have to wait a long time for DX to ship you a new one though =(
     
  13. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Good to hear. [​IMG], thanks much.

    And it usually only takes up to 8 days after they shipped it to arrive to me. And I've ordered about 5+ items from there each time, and still only 8 days. It's really nice. ^^.
     
  14. TeenDev

    Member TeenDev GBAtemp's Original Hipster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    633
    Country:
    United States
    Personally I would not use a microSD to Memory Stick adapter. They are never very fast and end up being slower than a regular Memory stick from the store. Just buy a dedicated one for the PSP. You'll be happier that way.
     
  15. Cavedude

    Member Cavedude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    Just buy an 8gb, there selling for 40$ around now adays : )
     
  16. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, but you can have a 16gb for about the same price using an adapter, the loss in speed wont affect much other than the writing/copying of files.
     
  17. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States

    Ouch. It had to of been on backorder or something right? That's the only possible cause for a 2 week delay shipping. If it wasn't, then that's really messed up. [​IMG]
     
  18. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, one thing was out of stock, and then by the time they got that in, another thing i had ordered was out of stock. =(
     
  19. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to hear.

    If an item was out of stock for me on DX, I would find a new source to order from, because I've heard of how long it takes for something if it's on backorder/out of stock. [​IMG]
     
  20. soulfire

    Member soulfire gear... secando

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i just got my photofast rc5400

    from DX and it works great with my 2 X 4 gig sandisk ^^

    i highly recommend it
     

Share This Page