Hacking MHS demo save cant transfer?

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,136
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,376
Country
Austria
Hello community,

I just finished the Demo version of monster hunter stories which I installed as EUR cia. Now i want to transfer that save to the full version of the game but sadly the game doesn't load the demo save. I tried to delete and reinstall the fullversion but it still doesn't detect the save of my demo. Someone have any tips to fix that? :/

Thanks in advance!
 

GizmoTheGreen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
812
Trophies
0
XP
887
Country
Hello community,

I just finished the Demo version of monster hunter stories which I installed as EUR cia. Now i want to transfer that save to the full version of the game but sadly the game doesn't load the demo save. I tried to delete and reinstall the fullversion but it still doesn't detect the save of my demo. Someone have any tips to fix that? :/

Thanks in advance!

full game is same region? EUR?
 
  • Like
Reactions: pLaYeR^^

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,136
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,376
Country
Austria
Is your console EUR? If it isn't, maybe use jksm to transfer the save to both of the US versions instead
My console is EUR, the demo is EUR and the full version of the game is EUR. I think the problem is that I installed the full version before the demo and started it. Now I tried much with jksm and savedatafiler since you can't backup the extdata from the demo with jksm. The interesting part is that both save files get stored at the same location in savedatafiler(01BC6). So if you delete that data with savefiler both saves are gone (full version save and demo save). I hoped that I maybe could delete only the save from the full version and maybe it would detect that I already have a save file from the demo version. But since I cant do that im screwed...
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,721
Country
United States
My console is EUR, the demo is EUR and the full version of the game is EUR. I think the problem is that I installed the full version before the demo and started it. Now I tried much with jksm and savedatafiler since you can't backup the extdata from the demo with jksm. The interesting part is that both save files get stored at the same location in savedatafiler(01BC6). So if you delete that data with savefiler both saves are gone (full version save and demo save). I hoped that I maybe could delete only the save from the full version and maybe it would detect that I already have a save file from the demo version. But since I cant do that im screwed...
At home I have an extdata dumper tool that dumps and decrypts all of your extdata and puts it on the sd card. If you can find it online it's just called extdata_dump. Maybe it could help you manually dump and import the demo save?
 
  • Like
Reactions: pLaYeR^^

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,136
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,376
Country
Austria
At home I have an extdata dumper tool that dumps and decrypts all of your extdata and puts it on the sd card. If you can find it online it's just called extdata_dump. Maybe it could help you manually dump and import the demo save?
Cant find a download :/. The solution would be:
1) Dump only the demo version save (which is hard since the full version and the demo version save under the same ID). After delete both saves and import only the demo save. Now the game would detect.
or
2) Delete only the full version save.

But idk how to do that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

JarosRomody

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
43
Country
Germany
So I managed to solve the problem :) Thanks anyway
Hey there! Would you mind explaining me how you solved the issue? I'm currently facing the same problem and don't want to replay my ~20 hours from the demo; knowing I just should be able to continue in the main game (I bought the physical version, game card EU, demo EU, 2ds EU.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pLaYeR^^

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,136
Trophies
1
Age
25
Location
Austria
XP
3,376
Country
Austria
Hey there! Would you mind explaining me how you solved the issue? I'm currently facing the same problem and don't want to replay my ~20 hours from the demo; knowing I just should be able to continue in the main game (I bought the physical version, game card EU, demo EU, 2ds EU.
I really would like to help you, but I can't remember how I solved the issue anymore. :/
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    thumbs up
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think the whole set after conversion and removed junk games was like 350GBs
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You can compress them down
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Oh, and you need a modded PSP to do that anyways
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If you have Gig internet might take like 24 hours to download the 640GB set lol
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Install either Pro C2 or ARK4 CFW as those are the best
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I have pro c 6.60 - Infinity 2 I believe
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nice
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oh make sure to find the pack of converted PS1 games, it has a translated version of Snatcher that's fun 🥰
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I installed it all on my own
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    the Doom one sounded fine
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They used the Sega CD files and somehow Frankenstein them into the PS1 Japanese game and it works
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    There is 2 Doom games for the PS1 I think the 2nd is like just a crap ton of levels
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Still fun though
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Loved both of them
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think it's like 114 levels
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Honestly if you have the ability, I recommend getting all the PS1 games and playing random games, some of the hidden gems are really great
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    thumbs up
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    SNES, PS1, Genesis, NES, TG-16, Arcade, are systems I consider worth downloading the entire sets.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lots of garbage to delete but still worth it loo
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I have sega classic collection
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    When they do rom sets they should break them down a little Core Set/Children's games/Sports that way you could just get what you want
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    thumbs up
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: thumbs up