Memory cards for CycloDS

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Urziel, Mar 23, 2008.

Mar 23, 2008

Memory cards for CycloDS by Urziel at 8:09 PM (1,512 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Urziel
    OP

    Newcomer Urziel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have decided I am buying a CycloDS... which SD is the best for cyclo?

    thanks in advance guys!
     
  2. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    The micro one [​IMG]

    Just kidding, I'm just playing.

    Any card will suffice really, however if you get a MicroSDHC card, you'll have faster read and write speeds than standard MicroSD... Any one will do, really. I myself have a Sandisk 8GB MicroSDHC card.
     
  3. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Depends on what you want. The 8GB and upcoming 12GB are massive, but you might not need that much unless you use your DS as a MP3 player/Video player/Photo viewer.
     
  4. Urziel
    OP

    Newcomer Urziel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well I think I am going for 2x2Gb ones but I am also thinking of later on buying a bigger one since I want movies and books and photos and mp3s the whole deal!

    now the only problem seems to be which company should I trust more? some say Kingstons are nice, whats your opinion?
     
  5. leavemealone347

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Get a Kingston Japan made. I have it 100% no problems (Some people say A-Data but some people also have trouble with the enhanced menu using A-Data cards)
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    And I was thinking of trying to find a place in Europe that sells A-data, well I guess it'll be a Kingston then.
     
  7. NYCvinster

    Member NYCvinster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    NJ
    Country:
    United States
    I use a Kingston 2 gig w/ my Cyclo, and it seems to give faster speeds than my Sandisc.
    I'd say get at least a 4 gig to start.
     
  8. ndsloser

    Newcomer ndsloser Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone reccomend a UK shipping site for a card?
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    http://amazon.co.uk/
     
  10. ndsloser

    Newcomer ndsloser Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I never even looked there as I assumed it would be expensive for them.
     
  11. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Amazon sells really cheap
     
  12. SpectralSounds

    Newcomer SpectralSounds Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I got my 8 gig Sandisk sdhc from Amazon with Micro Reader for $60 shipped. Works great.
     
  13. ndsloser

    Newcomer ndsloser Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
  14. Urziel
    OP

    Newcomer Urziel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yo yo !!! two more questions: first off, any places in UK with cheap SDs and transportation costs? Amazon charges £5 ffs for a thing that costs only £1.40... I mean wtf??? :/ secong, anyone knows how to tell which Kingston is made in japan and which is not???

    Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page