1. fgsfds

    OP fgsfds GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Russia
    As has been suggested in the thread, I ported the PS Vita port to the Switch.
    I suppose this is more of a novelty thing or a proof-of-concept of an AArch64 .so loader, since you can just play the original Android version using Switchroot.
    Github repo: /fgsfdsfgs/max_nx
    Latest version: r1 (Feb 25, 2021)
    Download link: Github release page

    2021022501430900-DA63280140B1530CD17755515D814CFE.jpg 2021022501435200-DA63280140B1530CD17755515D814CFE.jpg 2021022501482800-DA63280140B1530CD17755515D814CFE.jpg

    Features (over the mobile version):
    • 720p or 1080p screen resolution;
    • re-enabled character shadows and debris effects;
    • rebindable gamepad controls;
    • option to turn off the god damn bloom effect.

    How to install:

    This requires access to syscalls svcMapProcessCodeMemory, svcUnmapProcessCodeMemory and svcSetProcessMemoryPermission.
    I actually have no idea what that entails for the end user except the fact that you have to be running a CFW.
    I also haven't tested it on any other Switch except mine (which runs Atmosphere 0.18.1 with Mesosphere on FW 10.1.0). Good luck.

    You're going to need:
    * .apk file for version 1.7 (latest version at the time of writing) that includes arm64-v8a libraries;
    * .obb file for version 1.6 or 1.7 (usually located at /sdcard/android/obb/com.rockstar.maxpayne/main.3.com.rockstar.maxpayne.obb).

    Both files can be obtained from your phone if you have a copy of the game installed.
    Both files can be opened or extracted with anything that can extract zip files.

    To install:
    1. Create a folder called maxpayne in the switch folder on your SD card.
    2. Extract the contents of the assets folder from your .apk to /switch/maxpayne/.
    3. Extract lib/arm64-v8a/libMaxPayne.so from your .apk to /switch/maxpayne/.
    4. Extract the contents of the .obb file into /switch/maxpayne/. You can skip all the .msf files except for MaxPayneSoundsv2.msf and any extra languages that you want.
    5. Extract the contents of the .zip file attached to the latest Github release into /switch/maxpayne/. Replace everything.

    Notes:
    • The game will show an error message if it detects that anything is wrong. Please read those and check the relevant parts of your setup.
    • If the error says `Could not find symbol ...`, that likely means you have the wrong .apk. You need one for v1.7, others will not work.
    • If the game crashes on startup, double check your setup and the closed issues on Github (if any). If you can't find a solution, please post an issue with your last crash report attached.
    • The port has an extra config file, located at /switch/maxpayne/config.txt. It is created when you first run the game and allows you to tweak some internal settings. For more detailed descriptions of said settings check the wiki article.

    Credits:
    • TheOfficialFloW for the method and work on the PS Vita port;
    • Rinnegatamante, Bythos, frangarcj, CBPS for help with the PS Vita port;
    • Freakler for providing the icon;
    • Switchbrew for libnx.
     
    Last edited by fgsfds, Feb 24, 2021
  2. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,122
    Country:
    Mexico
    HOS-only players appreciate this.
     
    Ty_, DSwizzy, bad361 and 2 others like this.
  3. octopus
    This message by octopus has been removed from public view by Joe88, Feb 26, 2021, Reason: One word post/off topic.
    Feb 25, 2021
  4. TeRRG

    TeRRG Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Argentina
    would it be possible to do the same with gta san andreas?
     
    DSwizzy, mathew77 and Milenko like this.
  5. jesus96

    jesus96 Pinkboi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Mexico
    Is it possible to port GTA SA as well? Would love to see that

    Also thanks for this
     
  6. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,489
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exciting, was hoping this type of port/loader would make it to Switch. Nice job :toot:
     
    mathew77 likes this.
  7. fgsfds

    OP fgsfds GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Russia
    I could not find any evidence of a GTA SA .apk with arm64 libraries. If there is one, then it's possible. Otherwise I don't know.
    Apparently AArch64 CPUs can go into AArch32 mode, but as far as I can tell that's only done on a per process basis and I have no idea if it's possible to do in userland on the Switch. Not to mention the entire toolchain is only built for AArch64.
     
    Fadi5555 likes this.
  8. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,613
    Country:
    Chile
    Works great, thanks for sharing :)
     
  9. Fadi5555

    Fadi5555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    Can we port Nvidia shield tv games like metal gear solid 2 on Horizon OS using this method. I’m pretty sure it uses AArch64 which is compatible with switch.

    and about GTA SA can we use an iOS version in order to port it to switch? Because Of using AArch64.
     
  10. fgsfds

    OP fgsfds GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Russia
    iOS would very theoretically be possible, but someone would have to write a Mach-O loader and you'd need someone knowledgeable in ObjC internals to prune all of that shit from the binary.
     
    DSwizzy, hippy dave and Fadi5555 like this.
  11. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    804
    Country:
    Russia
    this plays amazingly well, thanks as always, Komrade!
     
  12. jimjom

    jimjom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
  13. MSearles

    MSearles GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    United States
    I think Jim Jom is trying to tell you that because you released this, he wants to make love to you, like you want him to, and that he'll hold you tight, all through the night.
     
  14. blueballer

    blueballer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Turkmenistan
    Wow, thanks fgfds! With Shield games being broken due to OpenGL problems on the latest Switchroot release, is there a chance that this .so loader could get games that previously worked on Oreo (HL2 and Portal) running native?
     
  15. fgsfds

    OP fgsfds GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Russia
    As long as they have arm64 libraries it should be possible. As far as I know HL2 (and other Source games probably) doesn't though, it only has armv7a, so unless someone figures out a way to load those we're shit out of luck.
     
  16. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can run 32 bit executables. If you use the homebrew toolchain and libraries then they would need work.
     
    DSwizzy, mathew77 and Fadi5555 like this.
  17. blueballer

    blueballer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Turkmenistan
    [​IMG]
     
    Milenko likes this.
  18. Retroboy

    Retroboy GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,730
    Country:
    United States
    how come you can never make codes for these ports, you can find an address but its dynamic but never able to find pointers
     
    Moquedami likes this.
  19. Ghost92

    Ghost92 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,024
    Country:
    Colombia
    wow I did not expect this, well yes, but only officially hehe

    Can you add the Spanish language? If so, how?
     
  20. fgsfds

    OP fgsfds GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Russia
    When you copy over the data files, make sure to copy over x_spanish.ras and MaxPayneSoundsSpanishv2.msf, then just select it in the options menu in game.
     
    Ghost92 likes this.
  21. Ty_

    Ty_ GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice, I've had max payne mobile sat for years doing nothing
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - loader, Mobile, Payne