Making a portable xbox (orignal xbox)

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by FAST6191, Jun 11, 2009.

Jun 11, 2009
  1. FAST6191
    OP

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    For the too long to read crowd the following is my plan to stick an xbox + screen in a truck and I would like comments on it. I am a relatively experienced builder of things like this and I am not really a stranger to car electronics so that should not be a problem. I mainly do things like this to things like the PS2 though, the xbox is a bit chunkier than I am used and I sense a bit more power hungry.

The situation:
    My friend is a lorry driver who quite often stays away for days at a time, with TV being useless around here and those portable DVD players not far behind (alas he has been bitten by the "video on demand" bug) so I figured I would hack him together a portable media player but do it on the cheap (I would have given him a laptop but the ones I have are too old, otherwise in use or too dead to bother with, not to mention car adapters are around the price of what I am planning).
    I would happily give him the PSP but the screen is too small and it is an original model so it lacks a TV out, ignoring the recent HEN work "hackable" PSPs with a TV out go for a fairly steep price these days too.
    Anything else resembling a video player is too small, too expensive and in car ones are laughable (car electronics in general are about 20 years behind the rest of the world, in car video is only marginally better until you get to silly price ranges).
    I did consider an MPEG4 capable DVD player and doing something similar to what I describe below until I remembered they are not so good compared to XBMC, about as expensive and they do no play games.

Equipment: