Hacking Majora's Mask & EmuNAND 9.2 ?

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
Hey Guys,

today I bought The Legend of Zelda - Majoras Mask for 3DS and wanted to start it in MT-Card Classic Mode EmuNAND 9.5.
But the Game stucks on Loading Screen and the 3DS freezes.
12804_904134649617600_4033568821701026856_n.jpg

I don't own any Flashcards (like Gateway, MT-Card or Sky3DS).
Someone knows how I can fix this?
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrCheeze

NicEXE

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
411
Trophies
0
XP
691
Country
Cyprus
This might be an extreme measure but when I saw your signature I thought of this scenario:
Backup SysNAND
Update your SysNAND to 9.5
Try to launch the game
Restore your backup if needed

If you are still getting problems while in 9.5 SysNAND I suspect that you might need a greater SD card
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
This might be an extreme measure but when I saw your signature I thought of this scenario:
Backup SysNAND
Update your SysNAND to 9.5
Try to launch the game
Restore your backup if needed

If you are still getting problems while in 9.5 SysNAND I suspect that you might need a greater SD card

I bought the game as physical cartidge^^
I've updated my SysNAND to 7.1 with the cartridge => Game works.
Now I've created a savegame.
I'll downgrade my 3DS to 4.5 again and try to start the Game with EmuNAND 9.5 again.
I hope it works :/
And yea... I've a 32GB SD Card^^
 

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
Interesting... I'm playing it right now (cartridge) on emunand 9.5 and it works just fine

did you buy it retail or eshop? if eshop, go to data management, delete it and redownload it cos I once had an issue with a game off the eshop that kept crashing upon launching it and that fixed it

lemme know how it goes
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
Interesting... I'm playing it right now (cartridge) on emunand 9.5 and it works just fine

did you buy it retail or eshop? if eshop, go to data management, delete it and redownload it cos I once had an issue with a game off the eshop that kept crashing upon launching it and that fixed it

lemme know how it goes

I bought it as retail Cartridge
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
This might be an extreme measure but when I saw your signature I thought of this scenario:
Backup SysNAND
Update your SysNAND to 9.5
Try to launch the game
Restore your backup if needed

If you are still getting problems while in 9.5 SysNAND I suspect that you might need a greater SD card

NO NO NO NO NO!!! Do not update sysnand to 9.5 unless you have a hard mod and a NAND backup! You will be completely screwed.

Chris, what you did is fine but that save will not run on 4.x, you will need to create a new one.

Edit: never mind you have a hard mod, carry on.
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
NO NO NO NO NO!!! Do not update sysnand to 9.5 unless you have a hard mod and a NAND backup! You will be completely screwed.

Chris, what you did is fine but that save will not run on 4.x, you will need to create a new one.

I know that the Game wouldn`t work on 4.x^^ But I thought the EmuNAND 9.5 is not 4.x? o.o

Even if I update the SysNAND to 9.5, I've hardmodded my 3ds ;)
 

Tomsquik Chill

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
55
XP
121
Country
Thailand
If I were you I will

- update sysnand to 7.1 and test with game cart to make sure its work
- making emunand from 7.1 and stay at this version for now and test emunand 7.1 with game cart too.
- now downgrade sysnand to 4.x and boot to emunand 7.1 and test game again
- lastly if all went well update emunand 7.1 to 9.5 and test game again.

with this you can find which one is your problem. cheers
 

NicEXE

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
411
Trophies
0
XP
691
Country
Cyprus
unless you have a hard mod and a NAND backup!
Dude relax, check his signature.

Also:
I really don't know what the problem is but you could make a small device running on a 3.3V teensy or something to (a) backup NAND to a MicroSD to either on the beginning of it or at an offset (so that you have 2 NAND dumps stored) and (b) restore one of the 2 NAND dumps from MicroSD.

While this is an ugly solution it gives you the ability to swap NAND snapshots on the go.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Dude relax, check his signature.

Also:
I really don't know what the problem is but you could make a small device running on a 3.3V teensy or something to (a) backup NAND to a MicroSD to either on the beginning of it or at an offset (so that you have 2 NAND dumps stored) and (b) restore one of the 2 NAND dumps from MicroSD.

While this is an ugly solution it gives you the ability to swap NAND snapshots on the go.

I saw that after I hit post. Sorry. :)
 

josamilu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
383
Trophies
0
Location
Saturn is better than Jupiter :P
XP
309
Country
Gambia, The
Interesting... I'm playing it right now (cartridge) on emunand 9.5 and it works just fine

did you buy it retail or eshop? if eshop, go to data management, delete it and redownload it cos I once had an issue with a game off the eshop that kept crashing upon launching it and that fixed it

lemme know how it goes
Do you use mt card emunand or gateway emunand?
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
Okay, I did this right now:
- Upgrade SysNAND 4.5 to 7.1
- Started Majoras Mask (works). Created Savegame
- Downgraded SysNAND from 7.1 to 4.5
- tried to start the Game on MT_EmuNAND 9.5
- Started Majoras Mask (DON'T Work! Stucks on start).

Will try it with a Gateway EmuNAND 7.1 after I created a new SD Card for it.
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
Luckily i still have a sd card with 9.4 emunand, so I can play the game :D

Ae you tried it? In 9.4 Gateway Classic mode (without Gateway Flashcard)?

EDIT: tried it with Gateway EmuNAND 7.1 => Don't work. Stucks on 3DS Boot Screen .
Will test a Dump of 9.2 for EmuNAND.


EDIT2: Tried to boot EmuNAND 9.2 in Classic Mode with Gateway Launcher => Black Screen. EmuNAND does not boot...

What can I do? want to play this Game x_x
 

josamilu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
383
Trophies
0
Location
Saturn is better than Jupiter :P
XP
309
Country
Gambia, The
Ae you tried it? In 9.4 Gateway Classic mode (without Gateway Flashcard)?

EDIT: tried it with Gateway EmuNAND 7.1 => Don't work. Stucks on 3DS Boot Screen .
Will test a Dump of 9.2 for EmuNAND.


EDIT2: Tried to boot EmuNAND 9.2 in Classic Mode with Gateway Launcher => Black Screen. EmuNAND does not boot...

What can I do? want to play this Game x_x
I don't have the game yet , but I will get it in ~30 Minutes.
Also if you don't have a gateway, you can't Boot into gateway emunand, I also use mt card emunand
 

ChrisX930

Banned!
OP
Banned
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
XP
433
Country
Gambia, The
UPDATE: It works with MT_EmuNAND 7.1!

Tested:
EmuNAND 9.2 - Gateway Launcher Don't work - 3DS Black Screen while Loading EmuNAND
EmuNAND 7.1 - Gateway Launcher Don't work - Stucks at 3DS Boot Logo
EmuNAND 9.5 - MT Launcher Don't work - Stucks after 3DS Boot Logo in Game
EmuNAND 7.1 - MT Launcher WORKS! (had to remove corrupted savegame, but now it works)

I really don't know what the problem is but you could make a small device running on a 3.3V teensy or something to (a) backup NAND to a MicroSD to either on the beginning of it or at an offset (so that you have 2 NAND dumps stored) and (b) restore one of the 2 NAND dumps from MicroSD.

While this is an ugly solution it gives you the ability to swap NAND snapshots on the go.

Is there a Tutorial for it?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Did it stain your tv