1. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. I tried to load luma3ds by holding select on start up after going through the flipnote thing and installing boot9strap, but nothing is happening. It's just bringing me to my home screen. I've tried updating my system and going back through flipnote, but it just shows that I have nothing there when I get to the end and click the sd card. Please help with this.
     
  2. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex (*(vu64 *)0x1FF81100)
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,900
    Country:
    Germany
    If you did already the flipnote stuff, then there is nothing to do anymore. B9S is installed (of course only if there was no error during the installation). Is a boot.firm in root of your sd card?
     
    Hnngh likes this.
  3. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, boot.firm is there along with boot.3dsx and boot.nds.
     
  4. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,594
    Country:
    Norway
    Are you sure you followed the guide to the end and didn't skip any steps? Also, is your Select button working?
    What happens if you hold Start on boot?
     
    Hnngh likes this.
  5. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I'm sure I followed the steps completely. My select button works and nothing happens holding start.
     
  6. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,501
    Country:
    Greece
    If nothing happens when holding Select OR Start and you normally boot into the Home Menu, then you definitely did something wrong! If you installed b9s, then you can't boot into HM without the boot.firm (Luma or other CFW) being loaded and if that's loaded then Select should have worked, while Start should have worked regardless as long as b9s was installed properly.
     
    Hnngh likes this.
  7. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try redoing it and seeing what was wrong. Thanks.
     
  8. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex (*(vu64 *)0x1FF81100)
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,900
    Country:
    Germany
    Nothing happens when you hold START at boot? Godmode9.firm is missing in /luma/payloads. Correct me if i'm wrong. Try to open the rosalina menu with L+Down+SELECT in the home menu. If it doesn't work, you made anything wrong.
     
    Hnngh likes this.
  9. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I have godmode9, but nothing is still happening. L+Down+Select doesn't do anything. I think something is wrong with my luma folder because I didn't have one from after installing boot9strap and I moved one over from another sd card.
     
  10. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,376
    Country:
    United States
    1. Remove the SD card from your 3DS.
    2. Turn on the 3DS and immediately press and hold (SELECT) button.
    If your 3DS has custom firmware, it will either

    (A) turn on and then off with a single blue light blink if it does not have CTRNAND Luma3DS.

    -or-

    (B) should open Luma3DS v10.0.1 configuration if it does have CTRNAND Luma3DS.


    However, your 3DS isn't hacked if it will instead

    (C) boot straight to HOME Menu despite having no SD card and holding (SELECT) when turning it on.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019
    Hnngh and ThoD like this.
  11. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,501
    Country:
    Greece
    If that doesn't give a definitive result, I'm low-key considering she might have installed a stealth version of Luma, considering she boots into Home even though Luma doesn't show up... Even with SD card, if Luma wasn't loaded it would turn off without booting to Home, but guess we'll have to wait for her test to see:unsure:
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  12. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,376
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking her (SELECT) button could be broken or she has atypical fastboot3ds bootloader. Shit, are we overthinking this?
     
    ThoD likes this.
  13. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    3,501
    Country:
    Greece
    Maybe, could just be she didn't install it properly and we are overcomplicating things:rofl2: At least it's good to cover all our bases I guess...

    OP, you never said what guide exactly you followed to install CFW. Can you post a link to it? And are you sure you actually installed CFW rather than just get the Homebrew Channel? Those two are different things!
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  14. Hnngh

    OP Hnngh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I used https://3ds.hacks.guide to install it. I managed to get everything to work on a different 3ds and SD card but it was only a 2GB so I needed a bigger one. Turns out I could just transfer the stuff over to the new SD card with the same 3ds.

    I found out my godmode9 payload was corrupted when I tried to move it so I just renamed the payload folder and put a good one in. I got everything working on a different system though, thanks for the help!
     
  15. Louie08213

    Louie08213 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I was searching through the web to see if someone else had the same problem cause I really stuck right now. The Luma3ds menu just won't budge when I press the power and select button.
    I've been working on this for hours and I'm just about to give up at this. Could someone please help me out.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
  16. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,376
    Country:
    United States
    Are you holding either the (START) or (SELECT) button when turning on the 3DS system? Do you see Luma3DS chainloader or Luma3DS v#.# configuration?
     
  17. Louie08213

    Louie08213 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    No. After the boot9strap installment, the device boots back to the home menu instead of loading into Luma 3ds. I tried all button combos but it wont budge. The version of the device still stays on "ver" instead of "sys."
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  18. Louie08213

    Louie08213 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Nvm. I got it working. Just had to refresh update my device for the flipnote to work again.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - boot9strap, reinstall, Luma3ds