Little big problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by analiser, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    I have a pal wii + wiikey + HBC

    A few days ago I let my wii do the new firmware update!

    Then i got this little big problem... wii don't read my backups any more... all of them! All recorded on verbatim Dvd - R... until the update all were working fine!

    So i downgraded the firmware... but the problem is still there!

    What should i do? Buy a new wii and put a newer chip (wiikey2)...

    Please help!!!


    P.S. - my wii was from the first generation...bought on the lauching day!!!
     
  2. kitt050383

    kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    648
    0
    Aug 11, 2008
    United States
    New Jersey
    I'm gonna be nice and not flame you...
    And just say this topic has been covered many times...
    Please use the search function next time...
    To make your life a little easier heres a link to a guide!
    Which I will point out is a sticky!.... It will work for 3.4...

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=112945

    Here's another guide as well... And might I point out on the front page at the time of your posting.....

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=118446

    And as I always say Google.com is your friend!,
    -Kitt050383
     
  3. SenorClean

    SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    522
    0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Which error does it give you? May just be rejecting trucha signed discs.
     
  4. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    it only says enable to read disk...

    trucha signed??? I only download, copy and play...
     
  5. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Member
    1,436
    66
    Nov 13, 2008
    Netherlands
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    he uses a modchip!!
     
  6. linuxares

    linuxares GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,092
    1,243
    Aug 5, 2007
    Try a original and see if it works.
    Is the discs "scrubbed"?
    If they are scrubbed, try a 1:1 copy of a game.

    EDIT: Try to upgrade your Wiikey to 1.9s
     
  7. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    my wiikey was already 1.9s

    Originals work fine.

    copy scrub and unscrub don't work... neither the setup disk of the wiikey.

    Even with the upgrade to the 3.4 there would be no problrm with the chip and the backups, right?
     
  8. kitt050383

    kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    648
    0
    Aug 11, 2008
    United States
    New Jersey
    Hey quincy_xD I know he has a modchip I read that... But those guides if followed/read correctly will help solve his problem.....

    Just Read his last post!

    Yes update to 3.4 does cause the problem follow the guides in my orriginal post!

    -kitt050383
     
  9. fennec

    fennec Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    95
    0
    Oct 14, 2008
    France
    There is no mentions of modchips in your guides. AFAIK 3.4 has no effect on modchips.

    analiser, maybe your modchip got unsoldered, did you moved your wii recently ?

    You could try backup launcher to test if your wii is still able to read burned discs. If your wii is old it could be the lens that is failing.
     
  10. noobwarrior7

    noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,594
    1
    Aug 2, 2008
    United States
    USA
    it doesn't affect the chips directly, but that doesnt mean it doesnt affect your chipped wii.

    bad things about 3.4
    -any "brick" is an instant full brick....no if's and's or but's (cause TP-hack can't survive it)
    -has the same "Fixed" IOS versions that kill trucha (custom discs, installing stuff, etc.)
    -has some suspicious new IOS versions
    -um....duh...no Starfall!
     
  11. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    I already tried downgrade and try the gator loader... and didn't work any backup!

    Maybe this is all a coincidence and the problem is in the chip... because every single backup is failing and the same append with a back up loader...

    But it all happend when I upgrade it?!?!?!
     
  12. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    maybe i'm going to upgrade again to 3.4 and do all steps again to 3.2?

    good idea???or not???

    (and i was enjoying so much playing SMG)
     
  13. fennec

    fennec Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    95
    0
    Oct 14, 2008
    France
    What is the error you get from backup launcher ? Is it able to identify title ?

    Try to install again cIOS from waninkoko by doing a network install (press right on the dpad) and try backup launcher again.

    If it fails, then your Wii lens is dying.

    edit: I think updating to 3.4 again will change nothing.
     
  14. afif95

    afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Member
    1,805
    1
    Nov 24, 2008
    Malaysia
    Malaysia!
  15. analiser
    OP

    analiser Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    made every step of the gamma pack and here are the results:

    - All my backups are working but only by gamma channel... it seems that my wiikey is dead!!!

    I'm very happy with result but i still need to fix my chip...