Linux question.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ChaosBoi, Dec 9, 2008.

Dec 9, 2008

Linux question. by ChaosBoi at 8:21 PM (570 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'm a very new user of Linux so it's going to take a bit of time for me to get used to. I have just downloaded and installed QEMU Pendrive on my microSD via transflash, and I have a few questions.

    1. How do I access my Windows partition? I did a google search and none of the methods seems to be working for me [​IMG] . I tried to mount the windows partition from hda1 but it tells me "Permission Denied". What do I have to do?

    2. How do I connect to the internet? I enabled Networking but it isn't connecting to my wireless router.
     
  2. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    You wouldn't have either of these problems if you were using a linux distro meant for more then just emulating games. Anyways
    1.
    2. You will need to find a proper driver
     
  3. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Where /dev/sda1 is what your windows partiton comes up in when you use the command "fdisk -l" and /mountpoint is the folder you want it to mount into. fdisk and mount must be done as root (put sudo in first for both commands)

    2. There are a lot of reasons why this is not working and you haven't given enough details to help us out with diagnosing the problem
     
  4. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
    Permission denied means you aren't doing it as root. "man mount" and try using sudo if you're using Ubuntu.

    Really, if you're a complete newbie, I suggest you try Ubuntu and over time configure it to play the games.
     

Share This Page