laptop messed up

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ganons, Sep 17, 2011.

Sep 17, 2011

laptop messed up by ganons at 2:35 AM (776 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My cousins dell inspirion 1545 don't work, its says boot normal or repair and when I try either it loops to the same menu. Its windows 7. Can't recover the files or boot into os
     
  2. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    Format and reinstall widnwos? That's what I would do..
     
  3. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    There is no option for 'startup repair'?
     
  4. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is and when I do that it, it freezes on a black screen
     
  5. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Same.
     
  6. Jasper07

    Member Jasper07 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Parallel universe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I would get the hdd out and put it in a desktop, then back up all of my files, format the disk, download windows 8 beta and install it, put the hdd back in the laptop and we're all done.
     
  7. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    0_o

    But it's a dev build...
     
  8. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    QFT except for the win 8 bit. It's a developer preview. Install Win 7 instead especially seeing as you probably have a legitimate key for it. Of course installing windows with the hdd in the laptop [​IMG].

    Btw you could try: insert the windows DVD and boot from it. Then it a repair windows option somewhere in the installer. See if that can find the problem for you. Some times, it actually does.
     
  9. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'd try doing startup repair from an install DVD before doing anything as drastic as reinstalling Windows.
     
  10. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Formatting and reinstalling windows is the last option I waana do as I want salvage any files that he wants

    I dont wanna pop the drive in another laptop as it might screw up the other, migh be bad virus?

    Well the thing my cousin is not good with compters and he got it as a gift so not sure which version of windows it but I think this is a good idea.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I suggest a live CD of Linux. It will help you recover your files in case you can't fix your computer without formatting. You can look at some here:
    http://distrowatch.com/
     
  12. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    This is a good and a bad advice. It really depends on what you want. Windows 8 is kind of a a sucessor to windows xp. If you really like windows 7, win 7 is a better choice. And as far as win 8 being a dev build, its as stable as xp can be i think(at least more stable than vista hahaha).
     
  13. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I tried to repair with 64bit edition it said incorrect so I took the hdd out and loaded up via usb and it showed the hdd as 48gb total when it says 320gb :wtf:

    Anyway I thought Id do a fresh install and now it hangs everytime in the windows splash!!!!
     
  14. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    48GB? Sounds like the HDD has died/is on it's last legs. Get a new one and try again.
     
  15. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well the hdd at this point is not important I guess but I can't even do a fresh install
     

Share This Page