Lameboy DS Assistance.

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Ben232, Jun 24, 2009.

Jun 24, 2009

Lameboy DS Assistance. by Ben232 at 5:36 PM (1,981 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello everyone, I found out today about the Lameboy application for R4, and as I have an R4 SDHC with the latest firmware and an 8GB Sandisk Micro SD card, I thought I'd give it a try to play Pokemon Silver. However, to my horror, when I select Lameboy, it loads correctly, yet when I select one of the roms (in this case, Pokemon Silver,) it says Loading, and then it just stays on the menu. The game won't load.

    This is so frustrating! I really want to play Pokemon Silver on here.

    It's an R4 SDHC with the latest firmware.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. Dragonpike

    Newcomer Dragonpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Probably the same deal as running NESDS on a Supercard with an HDHC card. With a normal Micro, it'll work no problem. But when a SDHC, it wont start, and if it does, certain games wont work or save.
     
  3. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So what do you suggest?
     
  4. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ben232, which version of Lameboy are you running? v1.2 is the latest. Also does your R4 need DLDI patched for other DS homebrew?
     
  5. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know about the DLDi thing. I don't understand it.

    Could someone explain?
     
  6. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could someone?
     
  7. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, so I made this YSmenu thing as an NDS file, I boot it up and the new firmware comes on, I select Lameboy, and it says:

    r4dldi.dat
    NO_BOOT_LOADER

    Now what do I do? It says that for all my games etc through YSmenu, but when I load them through normal R4 boot-up, they work fine. Any idea what to do? I really want lameboy to work.
     
  8. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is very urgent. Can't someone help me?
     
  9. Tyrant00

    Newcomer Tyrant00 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have you tried other .gbc's?
    I have a R4 SDHC with a 4gb Sandisk SDHC card. I've got Lameboy 1.2, and I run Pokemon Gold.gbc without problems...
     
  10. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried Crystal and Silver. Both say 'Loading' and then return to how it was before I selected Silver or Crystal. As if I'd never pressed it.
     
  11. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    You haven't DLDI patched it yet? I can't believe you couldn't understand something so simple. [​IMG]

    Just go here.

    Plus, is r4dldi.dat on the root of your card? It should be.

    That's as much advice as I can give. It, is all up to you now. [​IMG]
     
  12. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You mean that DLDI patch thing? I tried that on the Lameboy.NDS file, and it still doesn't work. Unless you mean patch the YSmenu.NDS?

    And the rddldi.dat - where is this/should it be placed in the root, AKA out of the System folder etc?
     
  13. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    1. Okay, don't bother.

    2. Yes, on the root.
     
  14. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where can I obtain an r4dldi.dat? You may want to guide me through it. xD Sorry for sounding rather useless - this is all new to me.
     
  15. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    It was created automatically when you used YSMenu, right? Or was it rdldi.dat? One of those.
     
  16. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I cannot locate it. O.O It doesn't appear to be anywhere on my system or on my R4. Through help from another user, I have managed to make it so I can boot YSMenu through the Moonshell Icon, but the same error when I select a game etc still persists.

    Looks like this could be the final hurdle after I fix this.
     
  17. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    I don't know anymore. Just try figuring it out.
     
  18. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    I also had that problem [​IMG]
    A temporary solution to that is backup all your data, reformat, put it back including Lameboy and the rom and try again. It will work [​IMG]
     
  19. Ben232
    OP

    Member Ben232 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The exact error when I try and load a game/load Lameboy is:

    r4dldi.dat
    NO_BOOT_LOADER

    Looks like I DO need this fabled r4dldi.dat.
     

Share This Page